CHURCHES AND PARISHES.
DAVENPORT THE SEE CITY OF THE DIOCESE OF IOWA AND THE DIOCESE OF DAVENPORT - THE HANDSOME CATHEDRALS AND OTHER SANCTUARIES OF THE CITY - SKETCHES OF THE BISHOPS WHO HAVE DIRECTED CHURCH WORK FROM DAVENPORT - SKETCHES SUPPLIMENTAL TO THOSE APPEARING IN THE BARNES HISTORY - DAVENPORT A CITY OF SPIRES. Pictures included with this chapter are: St. Marguerite's Church, Grave of Antoine LeClaire in foreground - St. Anthony's Church Sacred Heart Cathedral - Trinity Cathedral First Christian Church First Presbyterian Church - Calvary Bapist Church and St. John's M. E. Church - Edwards Congregational Church - English Evangelical Lutheran Church Davenport.
EARLY CATHOLIC HISTORY
The following facts relating to the history of the Catholic church in Davenport have been taken from articles written by Rev. John F. Kempker and from others that have appeared in the Catholic Messenger from time to time.
On the 22d of April, 1837, the Fathers of the Third Provincial Council of Baltimore petitioned Pope Gregory XVI that Dubuque be made an Episcopal see, having for its diocese all that portion of the territory of Wisconsin which lies between the west bank of the Mississippi river and the east bank of the Missouri river. In an apostolical brief of July 28th of the same year the Pope appointed Very Rev. Mathias Loras as bishop of Dubuque and on the 2d of September, 1837, information was forwarded by letter to the archbishop of Baltimore and on the following 10th of December, Dr. Loras was consecrated by Bishop M. Portier in the cathedral of Mobile, Alabama.
Bishop Loras was born on the 30th day of August, 1792, and was the son of parents who were prominent in society for their piety and devotion to the church. On account of loyalty to the royal family the father was sacrificed to the brutality of the mob spirit then rampant in France. Young Loras and his mother escaped injury at the hands of the revolutionists and he received his preparation for the priesthood in an old Carthusian house conducted by missionary priests. He was ordained at Lyons in 1817 and soon afterward was appointed superior of the seminary of Largentiere, where he remained several years. Later he joined a band of missionary priests who were conducting spiritual conferences in the Lyons diocese, in which he was engaged when he accompanied the bishop of Mobile to this country, arriving at New Orleans December 24, 1829. He reached the seat of the new diocese on the 3d day of January, in 1830. In the organization of the diocese the bishop appointed Loras as vicar general as well as pastor of the cathedral church. When the Spring Hill college was opened Father Loras was one of the professors and in 1833-34 was president of the institution. The Fathers of the III Provincial Council of Baltimore proposed Dubuque for a new diocese and Bishop Rosati pointed out Father Loras as a worthy incumbent. He was recommended by the assembled fathers as eminently deserving and his choice for the uncultivated but promising territory proved providential. In the month of Auguse he received from Rome the announcement of his appointment. After his appointment he went to France where he remained a number of months, returning in the fall of 1838 accompanied by Revs. Joseph Cretin, J. A. M. Pelamourgues, and four sub-deacons, August Ravoux, Remigues Peliot, Lucien Galtier and J. Causse. Proceeding on their journey to Baltimore Father Pelamourgues and the four seminarists remained at the St. Mary's Seminary while Bishop Loras and Father Cretin continued on to St. Louis. Here they were compelled to remain for the winter on account of the weather and the closing of navigation on the river. At. St. Louis the Creoles avowed they never knew anyone to preach better than the Bishop of Dubuque. In the spring Father Pelamourgues joined his superior and soon after Easter they continued on their way to Dubuque on a Mississippi steamer, arriving at their destination on the 19th day of April, 1839. On the day following the prelate baptized an infant, the first baptism recorded in the register of Dubuque. After 21st the new bishop was solemnly installed in his cathedral church, with the assistance of Revs. Joseph Cretin, J. A. M. Pelamourgues and S. Mazzuchelli. On the 23d of May Bishop Loras visited Davenport, where he blessed St. Anthony's church. In 1849 he commenced the building of his new cathedral and in December, 1857, he celebrated holy mass therein and on the following day suffered an attack of paralysis. On February 18th he offered up the holy sacrifice and seemed cheerful. Later in the day he showed much pleasure and vivacity in greeting Father Emonds, who had then arrived on his return from Europe. Early in the evening he retired. At about 8 o'clock Father McCabe heard moaning and when the Bishop's room was entered he was found unconsicious. He closed his eyes in death the following morning, February 19, 1858.
BISHOPS MCMULLEN AND COSGROVE
Says Rev. James McGovern, D. D., in his life of Bishop McMullen: "Long before the diocese of Chicago was created by the sovereign pontiff Dubuque had been erected into an Episcopal see, embracing the territories of Iowa and Minnesota. On December 10, 1837, the Rt. Rev. Mathias Loras, D. D., a native of Lyons, France, was consecrated at Mobile, Alabama, the first bishop of this diocese. At the time there was but one church in the whole territory of Iowa, and Rev. Samuel Mazzuchilli was the only resident priest. * * * Bishop Loras took possession of his new diocese and was installed in the church of St. Raphael, April 29, 1839, commencing his Episcopal duties with three priests and four theological students. Father Pelamourgues was assigned to the extensive mission of Davenport, which comprised all of the southern part of the territory. * * * He did so well in laying the corner stone of the church in this vast field of labor that neither time nor human events have changed his foresight and he had the consolation of seeing large and prosperous Catholic communities grow up around him." It was therefore Father Pelamourgues - as he became familiarly known to everybody in Davenport - who laid the foundation of the Davenport diocese. A man of splendid organizing ability, deep piety and earnest devotion to the cause to which he had consecrated his life, he greatly advanced the upbuilding of the church, remaining at Davenport until he had reached a venerable age, when he sought retirement at his home in France, preferring this to the prospective reward of a bishopric.
During the administration of Bishop Loras the diocese of St. Paul had been segregated from the original diocese of Dubuque, and during the administration of the church caused another division of the diocese to be considered. Under the administration, however, of Rt. Rev. John Hennessy, D. D., who became bishop of Dubuque after the death of Bishop Smyth, division was postponed until 1881, when the new diocese of Davenport was created. The Sacred Congregation of the Propaganda announced that the city of Davenport had been decided on as the see city of the new diocese, which would take in all that part of the state of Iowa bounded on the east by the Mississippi river, on the west by the Missouri river, on the south by the state of Missouri, and on the north by the northern boundaries of the counties of Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, Guthrie, Dallas, Polk, Jasper, Poweshick, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar and Scott. A special cable, dated at Rome, May 9, 1881, conveyed this further intelligence: "On Sunday, may 8, 1881, the feast of the patronage of St. Joseph, it pleased our Holy Father Pope Leo XIII, first to ratify the creation of the diocese of Davenport, Iowa, cut from the diocese of Dubuque, which comprised the whole state of Iowa; second, to name the Very Rev. John McMullen, D. D., V. G. of Chicago, to be the first bishop of Davenport. This see will be a suffragan of the Metropolitan see of St. Louis."
To briefly sketch the further development of the diocese, and the lives of the able and zealous clergymen who have contolled its destinies since its organization, is the further purpose of this chapter of church history. The newly appointed Bishop McMullen was at the time of his elevation to the Episcopacy vicar-general of the diocese of Chicago, had long held a pastorate in that city and was greatly beloved by all classes of people.
He was a native of Ireland, having been born in Ballanyhinch, county Down, January 8, 1832. His father, James McMullen, and Alice, his wife, sailed for America when he was little more than a year old, and after a long and stormy voyage they landed at Quebec. For three years the family lived on a farm near Quebec, and later the elder McMullen established his home on another farm near Prescott, in the province of Ontario. Here a fire destroyed the homestead and they removed to the neighborhood of Ogdensburg, New York, where they resided until 1843, when they removed to Illinois. The boy who was afterward to become Bishop McMullen, was twelve years old when his parents settled in Chicago. Prior to this time he had attended only a country school, but he had given evidence of strong intellectuality, and when afforded the advantages of educational training in the schools of Chicago he made rapid advancement. When Bishop Quarter founded the University of St. Mary of the Lake, John McMullen entered the new college and therein received his academic training. "In his academic course," says Dr. McGovern, in the biography from which quatation has been made "he gave undoubted proof of his future career. His triumphs of eloquence in debate, his caustic pen, his sound judgment and his mastery of the most intricate problems in mathematical science, caused him to come under the approving eye of his professors. In a little college paper, issued by him and another classmate, his intellectual weapons flashed with unwonted brilliancy, and the seeds of literature sowed in his powerful mind blossomed with a vigor which made itself remarkable in its fruits."
A deep piety and a remarkable capacity for influencing the character and conduct of his associates, were distinguishing features of his early life and his fitness for the priesthood as well as his evident desire to enter that holy calling were noted by his teachers and friends. At the close of his college course in 1850 he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and soon afterward entered upon a course of theological study.
In 1852, while pursuing these studies, he was directed by his physician to give up the routine for a time, and while obeying this injunction he devoted himself to writing for publication a series of letters which constituted an important contribution to the Catholic literature of that period. In the fall of 1853, in company with James McGovern, now a noted Catholic clergyman and author, he was sent by Bishop Van de Velde, of the Chicago diocese, to the College of the Propaganda at Rome, where he pursued a few years' course of study. In the summer of 1858, he was ordained a minister of the Catholic church, and received from Cardinal Barnabo the insignia of Doctor of Divinity. He immediately left Rome for the United States and arrived in Chicago in October of that year. Immediately after his return home he engaged actively in ministerial work and one of his first important acts was the founding of the House of the Good Shepherd, an institution which has been grandly prolific of good results. In 1861 he was appointed to take charge of the Cathedral of the Holy Name, but in a short time he was called to the presidency of the University of St. Mary of hte Lake, a position which he retained for several years. In 1870 he became rector of the Cathedral of the Holy Name and continued to discharge the duties of this pastorate until he was made bishop of Davenport. In the meantime he was appointed vicargeneral to Bishop Foley, and continuted in this position by Archbishop Feehan, when that renowned ecclesiastic succeeded to the bishopric left vacant by the death of Bishop Foley.
Such is a brief sketch of the early life of the man appointed first bishop of Davenport. A profound scholar, an eloquent preacher and an ardent churchman, when he took charge of the new diocese he threw himself into the work of building up the church in the promising field to which he had been assigned, with the ardor of an enthusiast. On the 30th day of July, 1881, Bishop McMullen arrived in Davenport, and received a royal welcome not only from the people of his own church, but from citizens of Davenport generally. After the ceremonies incident to his installation he took up his abode with Father Cosgrove, who for twenty-five years had been the pastor of St. Marguerite's church, and after a few days' rest began a visitation of his diocese in order to become acquainted with its condition. He speedily placed himself en rapport, not only with the clergy but with the congregations of his diocese, and all became devotedly attached to the good man under whose guidance and through whose well directed efforts the interests of the church were rapidly advanced. The priests of the diocese purchased and presented to him as an episcopal house the beautiful home of Antoine LeClaire, situated on a historic bluff overlooking the three cities of Davenport, Moline and Rock Island, and numberous other testimonials of their regard came to him from time to time. In five months he visited almost every point in the diocese and confirmed more than six thousand people. The labors which he undertook were too arduous, however, to be long endured, and in the first year of his administratorship his health broke down, and after a long continued illness he passed away, on the 4th of July, 1883, mourned by the church and the general public of his diocese, as well as by thousands of Catholics in Chicago and elsewhere, where he was known. When Bishop McMullen began his labors in Davenport he had selected St. Marguerite's as the cathedral church, and Rev. Henry Cosgrove, D. D., pastor of that church, as vicar-general of the diocese. Becoming thus the bishop's chief executive in looking after the affairs of the diocese, a large measure of responsibility for its welfare devolved at once upon Father Cosgrove. He had a more extensive acquaintance throughout the diocese than any other priest, and a more intimate knowledge than any of them of the condition of the various parishes, of the opportunities for church extension and of the educational and charitable work to be look after.
In his capacity as vicar-general he was called upon, when Bishop McMullen was stricken with the illness which ended his life, to take charge in great measure of diocesan affairs, and while the good bishop, up to the last hour of his life never lost interest in these affairs, it was Father Cosgrove who received his instructions and executed his plans. Brought thus into a most intimate relationship to the diocese as a whole, and having demonstrated his fitness for the high office of a bishop of the church, by actual performance of many of the duties incident thereto, it was natural that there should have been on the part of the clergy of the diocese a desire that the Rev. Dr. Cosgrove should become successor to Bishop McMullen. A petition to this effect, signed by nearly all the priests of the diocese, was sent to Rome, this being, it is said, the first instance in the history of the church in the United States in which the priests of a diocese petitioned for the appointment of one of their number as bishop. It received the favorable consideration of the cabinet of cardinals and Father Cosgrove became second bishop of Davenport.
A native of the United States, Bishop Cosgrove was born in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, December 19, 1834. His father, John Cosgrove, was a native of Ireland, who emigrated to this country with his young wife and settled in Pennsylvania in 1830. In 1845 the family removed to Dubuque, Iowa, and it was here that Bishop Henry Cosgrove received his early education. As a boy he was one of the acolytes in the old cathedral of Dubuque, when Bishop Loras was at the head of the diocese, and his early inclinations were toward the priesthood. When he was fifteen years of age he began the course of study which was to fit him for holy orders under the tutelage of Rev. Joseph Cretin, then vicar-general of the diocese of Dubuque, and later first bishop of the diocese of St. Paul. After the course of study with Father Cretin he went to St. Mary's seminary in Missouri, where he completed a three years' classical course and then entered the noted seminary at Carondelet, Missouri, where he took a full course in theology. Returning to Dubuque when he had completed his studies, he was ordained priest by Bishop Smyth, coadjutor of Bishop Loras, on the 27th of August, 1857, and a few days later he became assistant pastor of St. Marguerite's church in Davenport. Rev. A. Trevis, who at that time held the pastorate of St. Marguerite's, resigned for a long absence in Europe, and at the end of a few years Father Cosgrove succeeded to the full pastorate, which he held up to the time of his appointment as bishop. During the twenty-five years of his pastoral connection with this church, he sharnk from no responsibility, neglected no duty and overlooked no opportunity to advance the cause to which he had consecrated himself. The church and its schools flourished, large and handsome buildings were erected for their accomodation under his supervision and in many ways the pastor of St. Marguerite's demonstrated that he was a man of superior executive ability, as well as an able preacher. His relations with the non-Catholic population of Davenport were of a most friendly character, and his appointment to the vacant bishopric was hailed with delight by Catholics and Protestants alike. When his commission as bishop had been received and duly presented to Archbishop Kendrick at St. Louis, Bishop Cosgrove returned to his home to be greeted by churchmen of his own faith, city officials of Davenport, representatives of various social and business organizations and the public generally, with an enthusiasm which evidenced a remarkable attachment to him in the city with which he had been identifed for a quarter of a century. The solemn and impressive ceremony of consecration took place in St. Marguerite's cathedral on the 14th of September, 1884, and clothed with the full powers of a bishop, Rev. Dr. Cosgrove went forth to carry forward the work of which he had in reality had charge for many months previous to that time. His faithful and efficient labors during his administration are evidenced by the fact that the membership of the Catholic church in this diocese increased from 40,000 to 56,000.
The beginning of St Anthony's is coincident with that of Davenport. Its site is an interesting landmark in the history of this locality. Its location is designated in the old original city plat as the "church square." The first brick manufactured in Davenport was used in its construction, and that old brick edifice still stands and is now used as a school building. The congregation of St. Anthony's was founded by S. Mazzuchelli, dedicated by Bishop Loras and developed under Father Pelamourgues. Through the enterprise of the Very Rev. Samuel Mazzuchilli of Dubuque, who had for a number of years paid frequent visits to Davenport and Stephenson, now Rock Island, the original church was built, and the congregation first established. Ground was broken for the church on April 27, 1838. At this time Henry Cosgrove, later such an important factor in the development of the church in this diocese, and its second bishop, was then but a child of four years of age, living with his parents at Williamsport, Pennsylvania.
In the spring of 1839 the church was dedicated by Mathias Loras, the first bishop of the diocese of Dubuque, and in response to the petition of the new congregation for a pastor he sent to them in August J. A. M. Pelamourgues, one of the band of clerics whose zeal Bishop Loras had won for the west while in France the year before.
St. Anthony's at once began to flourish and the people of the congregation and of Davenport as well were prosperous. Father Pelamourgues never failed his people in any hardships that were to be endured and stoood by them in their every trial. It was under his personal guidance that the first school was established ever built in Davenport, and in 1853 he commenced the building of the present stone church. When Father Pelamourgues came to Davenport there were no public schools established. A simple, self-denying man, he himself devoted his time to teaching the children of his congregation and opened a school in the old brick church built by Father Mazzuchelli, which building still stands on the church lot. This building answered for church, school and pastoral residence. Father Pelamourgues' apartments were partitioned off by rough boards in a corner of the gallery. The choir was composed at one time of Antoine LeClaire, Judge Mitchell, Joseph Motie, Joseph Clark, Miss Rosa Clark, Mrs. Lou Hebert and Mary Finch, who were rehearsed in their singing by the noted divine. There being no organ, the accompanying music was composed of a violin, clarionet, flute and cello, which made up a very acceptable orchestra. The school was taught by Father Pelamourgues under a gallery in the body of the church. The space taken up by the children was separated from the sanctuary by a curtain. Judge John F. Dillon was a pupil of this school under Father Pelamourgues.
The present stone church, the building of which was started by Father Pelamourgues, was continued in its construction by Rev. G, H. Planthe, who was appointed to succeed Father Pelamourgues when the latter was called to France. But in July, 1853, Father Pelamourgues returned and completed the building at the close of the year.
This priest was very effective in gaining means and teachers for his school. In 1846, under his irresistible persuasion, he induced the Sisters of Charity of Dubuque to establish the Sisters' Parochial school in Davenport and opened the Academy of the Immaculate Conception which has since reached high fame as an institution for young ladies.
While ministering to the immediate needs of his own congregation Father Pelamourgues attended other places as out-missions, particularly Muscatine, Iowa City, Burlington, Columbus Junction, DeWitt and Lyons.
In 1850, as a reward for his zeal and great labors for the church, he was offered the dignity of the bishopric of St. Paul, tendered him by Pope Pius IX, which he declined. It was while he was visiting his native place, Rodez, France, in 1868, that he was prevented by untoward circumstances, over which he had no control, from returning, and died there in 1875. At the time of his departure from Davenport, Rev. Maurice Flavin was appointed to succeed him May 10, 1868. Rev. Flavin remained until 1872 and was followed by Rev. P. A. McCabe, who had attended the church from September, 1853, until January, 1854, during a visit of Father Pelamourgues to France. He had celebrated the first mass in the stone church on Christmas, 1853. Father McCabe remained at St. Anthony's until 1876, when he was transferred to St. Mary's church.
Rev. Thomas O'Reilly, now of Keokuk, was pastor of St. Anthony's from January to April, 1876, and the short interval, from April 25th to December 29th, made up the pastorate of Father J. J. Swift at the old church. Early in 1877 Rev. L. Roche, now of Cascade, became pastor of St. Anthony's and under his administration the parochial residence was built. He remained until August, 1880, when he was succeeded by Father P. J. Burke, who closed his pastorate there in March, 1882, when the present pastor, Rev. D. J. Flannery, took charge of the parish under the direction and appointment of Bishop McMullen.
Father Flannery was ordained to the priesthood December 22, 1872. He laid out the Mason City parish or territory which was then sparsely settled, and made of it a successful and flourishing mission, with several parishes. He also labored in the same capacity in Clinton and Washington, and came to St. Anthony's ripe in wisdom and experience. He has increased the size of the old stone church to meet the growing needs of his congregation. At the present time the congregation numbers about 175 families, and the school is in a very flourishing condition. It numbers about 125 pupils, is a free institution and is conducted by the Sisters of Charity.
SACRED HEART CATHEDRAL
The mother church in the city of Davenport was the historic St. Anthony's, succeeded by the existing stone church. This stone church was opened to divine worship on Christmas day, 1853. In the fourteen years prior to that time the brick building now used as a schoolhouse was the church. In June, 1856, St. Kunegunda's church was opened for German Catholics, and on June 29, 1856, the first stone of St. Marguerite's church, the predecessor of Sacred Heart cathedral, was blessed by Bishop Loras of Dubuque in the presence of a large assemblage, the sermon on the occasion being preached by Rev. John P, Donelan. On the third Sunday of the following October the church was dedicated by the venerable Father Pelamourgues of St. Anthony's church. The corner stone of St. Mary's church was laid on July 21, 1867. No parishes were created until a few years ago. Holy Family church was established, making five in all up to that time, in the city of Davenport. The square upon which St. Marguerite's church was erected was the donation of Antoine LeClaire, Davenport's famous Catholic citizen and benefactor, and his generosity exceeded the donation of the site. Bishop Loras had appointed Rev. Andrew Trevis the first pastor of the new parish, and for his use a frame residence was erected, which was later moved north of the church, and in 1859 converted into a school. This frame structure was again enlarged later on so as to furnish schoolrooms and living rooms for the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, who were placed in charge in 1861. In 1859 a brick pastoral residence was erected; the place between it and the church was filled in 1866 by a building forming the left wing of the original church structure. The materials for this addition were partly bought and partly donated, the work manifesting the good results of the first mission ever preached in Davenport by the noted Jesuit missionary, Father Damen, who made many converts at that time and greatly stimulated religious interest by his powerful exhortations. In the summer of 1861 Antoine LeClaire added to his long list of benefactions by presenting to St. Marguerite's parish twenty acres of land lying north of the city of Davenport, which since then have been used and known as St. Marguerite's cemetery, thus perpetuating the original name of the congregation. In September, 1861, Mr. LeClaire died, mourned by all the Catholics of the city and non-Catholics as well. The memory of his charities and benefactions will ever be cherished in this city and his good works no doublt were powerful advocates for him at the bar of divine justice.
In November, 1861, Rev. A. Trevis, suffering from a severe throat trouble, was obliged to seek relief in another climate, and therefore left Davenport, leaving St. Marguerite's church in charge of his young assistant, Rev. Henry Cosgrove, who had been with him since 1857. Under the direction of this zealous and able young priest the prosperity of the flock advanced steadily and in 1865 the foundations were laid for a large addition to the church which was completed in 1866, greatly enlarging the edifice. Father Pelamourgues and Father Laurent, assisted at the dedicatory ceremonies at the completion of the addition. In 1870 and 1871 the brick schoolhouse was built at the northwest corner of the church square, which is in use today, with the large addition erected in recent years, accommodating now nearly five hundred pupils. Originally the center room of the gournd floor was used as an assembly hall and parish library room, but the constant increase in the number of pupils gradually required the turning over of this room to the use of the scholars of the parish. So great had been the progress and development of St. Marguerite's that when, in 1881, Davenport was erected into an Episcopal see, it was was chosen by the first bishop, Right Rev. John McMullen, D. D., for the cathedral of the new Iowa diocese.
THE DIOCESE OF DAVENPORT
The new era in the history of Davenport thus inaugurated was first made known by a cablegram from Rome. That was the beginning of the diocese of Davenport. Thus 1906 marked the golden anniversay of St. Marguerite's parish and the silver one of the diocese.
Bishop McMullen came to Davenport after his consecration and was given an enthusiastic reception. He took up his home with Rev. Henry Cosgrove, whom he honored with appointment as first vicar general of the new diocese. Bishop McMullen soon decided to establish a diocesan seminary and to aid the project Vicar General Cosgrove gave him the use of two rooms in the parochial school, where the college was opened in the fall of 1882, with Rev. A. J. Schulte and Mr. J. E. Halligan constituting the first faculty of the institution. From that humble beginning has grown the great establishment of the present St. Ambrose college. Bishop McMullen died on July 4, 1883, so that the upbuilding of the college fell to the lot of his successor, Bishop Cosgrove, under whose fostering care it grew rapidly under the able presidencies of Rev. A. J. Schulte, now of Iowa City, and of his successor, Rev. J. T. A. Flannagan.
VERY REV. A. TREVIS, V. G.
Upon his promotion to the episcopal dignity, Bishop Cosgrove went to live in the former Antoine LeClaire residence on East Seventh street, which had been presented by the priests of the Davenport diocese to his predecessor, Right Reb. John McMullen, D. D. He chose as his successor in the pastorate of the cathedral the first pastor of old St. Marguerite's, Very Rev. A. Trevis, whom he also appointed as vicar general. Father Trevis, who was the first permanent pastor of St. Marguerite's parish, and who thus again became pastor, was ordained in 1850. He was appointed president of the diocesan seminary and assistant at the cathedral, Dubuque. It was during his presidency that the bishop received most of his classical education. When in 1854 the church square was donated for church purposes by Antoine and Marguerite LeClaire, Bishop Loras sent Father Trevis to organize the new parish. Giving up his charge on account of throat trouble, he went to the old world, 1861, remaining there about a score of years, when he returned to Davenport, where he was stationed as chaplain at Mercy hospital. He remained as pastor of St. Marguerite's a second time for about five years, resigning on account of his advanced age in 1889, when the great work of building a new cathedral was inaugurated by Bishop Cosgrove, the work requiring a younger and more active pastor. Father Trevis continued to exercise the functions of his office as vicar general until his death, which occurred at Mercy hospital, November 3, 1895, having passed his sevetieth year, he having been born in a village of the Cevennes mountains, called St. Privat du Dragon, in the Chateau of Alleret, July 31, 1825. He was educated in the seminary of LePuy, France, and it was while on a visit there that Bishop Loras adopted him for the diocese of Dubuque. On August 15, 1850, Father Travis was ordained in Dubuque and when Bishop Loras started the seminary called Mt. St. Bernard, he put Father Trevis in charge, where he remained until 1856, when he was sent to take charge of St. Marguerite's parish, Davenport.
James Davis, bishop of Davenport, was the third permanent pastor of Sacred Heart cathedral. He was born in November, 1852, near the village of Knocktopher, County Kilkenny, Ireland. He received his first religious instruction under the direction of Very Rev. P. Fogarty, P. P., at Donemargin. His boyhood days were spent in the college of St. Carmel at Knocktopher, where he began his studies for the church under the direction of the Carmelite fathers. After studying the classics there he entered St. Patrick's Ecclesiastical college, Carlow, where he completed his theological course and was ordained by Right Rev. Bishop Walsh of the diocese of Kildare and Loughlin, on June 21, 1878. Shortly after his ordination he left his native land to enter on his duties in the diocese of Dubuque, into which he had been adopted by the then Bishop Hennessy. After a short stay at St. Raphael's cathedral, he was assigned to St. Peter's congregation, Windham, Johnson county, Iowa. About two years later he was sent to St. Mary's parish, Oxford. It was during his four years' pastorate at Oxford that the see of Davenport was erected, Oxford being in the new diocese; and also that the death of Bishop McMullen occurred. In 1884 Bishop Cosgrove assigned Father Davis to St. Michael's congregation at Holbrook. In this large and extensive parish Father Davis labored until November, 1889, when he was called by Bishop Cosgrove to be rector of St. Marguerite's cathedral, to succeed Very Rev. A. Trevis, resigned. He arrived in Davenport on November 12th and was introduced by Bishop Cosgrove to the congregation on November 17th as the successor of Father Trevis.
Father Davis at once set to work on the completion of the cathedral project, and when that great work was accomplished others followed. The $100,000 structure was completed and dedicated on November 15, 1891 and under his direction the parish grew and prospered wonderfully. He remained in charge even after he was made coadjutor bishop and the Sacred Heart Cathedral parish, as it has been known since the building of the new cathedral, is today among the greatest parishes in the whole state of Iowa. His high merit and worth finally received the climax of appreciation, for on October 19, 1905, upon the recommendation of the archbishop and bishops of the province of Dubuque, and the priests of the Davenport diocese, Vicar General Davis was raised by the Holy See to the rank of Bishop of Milopotamus and Coadjutor Bishop of Davenport. His consecration on November 30, 1905, was the occasion of a notable gathering of prelates and clergy, and was an occasion of great rejoicing among the cathedral parishioners, the priests and the people of Davenport and the diocese in general; and tokens of esteem from the Knights of Columbus, the Ancient Order of Hibernians and the several church societies. The occasion of his return from his visit to Rome in the fall of that year was marked by another warm greeting from his congregation.
St. Mary's church and parish trace their origin back to the year of 1867. The corner stone of the church edifice was laid July 21st of that year by Bishop Hennessy of Dubuque. The building, since remodeled, stands on the original site at the corner of Sixth and Fillmore streets. Father Pelamourgues was its first pastor. He was succeeded by Rev. Maurice Flavin, May 10, 1868, who continued there until July, 1871. Father Flavin died at Los Angeles, June 10, 1872, where he had gone for the benefit of his health. Rev. Michael Flavin then took up the work at St. Mary's and remained there thirteen years. He was followed by Rt. Rev. Mgr. Ryan who came from St. Marguerite's cathedral, of this city. He is still the pastor. In his manifold duties he is aided by an assistant. In 1909, Father Ryan was invested with the title of Monsignior at a public ceremonial of great beauty and impressiveness.
In 1855, there being a large German population in the west end of town, which was quite remote from the other Catholic churches, a German Catholic church was decided upon and judge C. G. R. Mitchell donated grounds for the proposed church and the stone building still standing, which is now used as a school, was erected. It was quite a pretentious building in its day. The church was dedicated May 25, 1856; Father Flammang conducted the services in the German language. He was succeeded in 1857 by Rev. John Baumgarten. He stayed but one year and then the church was left without a pastor for six months. Rt. Rev. Mgr. Niermann became pastor April 2, 1859. On September 16, 1883, under the patronage of St. Joseph's, the new church was dedicated. In 1900 an assistant, Rev. Frank Kottenstette, became assistant to the aged pastor and remained two years. He was succeeded by Revs. Albers P. Stahl, P. Herbst, J. Snyder, and B. Kueppenbender. In 1905, Rev. N. J. Peiffer, immediately after his ordination, came to the charge and is still there.
This is one of the later established churches of the city. The parish was started in 1897. At first a school building was erected and finished in 1898, where services were held until 1899. In May, of the latter year, the basement of the church, which had been finished, was used for religious services. The organization started out with twenty families, but now has approximately 100 families and is prosperous. Father L. J. Enright was the first pastor and is also the present one.
St. Alphonsus church and parish were organized in 1907 by Fathers of the Redemptorist Order. The parochial territory is situated in the southwest section of the city, and was formerly part of St. Mary's and St. Joseph's parishes. This territory having developed into a great manufacturing district, it was deemed necessary to provide for the growing Catholic population there. The church edifice is a brick building of imposing appearance. Rev. A. Guendling is the pastor and has for his assistant Rev. O'Neal Byrne.
St. Paul's parish was organized in February, 1909, from fragments of territory taken from the sacred Heart and St. Anthony's parishes. The cornerstone of St. Paul's church edifice was laid with appropriate ceremonies July 4, 1909, and the first services were held in the building December 12, 1909. No exact date for the dedication of the church has been definitely decided upon, but it will probably take place some time in the summer of 1910. The parish is a flourishing one and though in its infancy numbers eighty families, with eighty-five children in the Sunday school, who are presided over by the Sisters of Mercy. Rev. C. J. Donohoe, a native of Iowa county, Iowa, and a graduate of St. Ambrose college, Davenport, is the pastor.
OUR LADY OF LOURDES
The Church of Our Lady of Lourdes was organized about nine years ago at Bettendorf, and services are held there by the Redemptorist Fathers of St. Alphonsus church, of Davenport.
THE DIOCESE OF IOWA
The first services of the Episcopal church in Iowa were held in 1836, when occasional ministrations were held in Dubuque by the Rev. Richard F. Cadle, and later by the Rev. E. G. Gear and the Rev. J. Batchelder. The first services in Scott county were held by the Rt. Rev. Dr. Philander Chase, bishop of Illinois, who officiated in the hotel at Rockingham in the fall of 1837. Thirty or forty people were present, among them Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Van Tuyl. In 1841 the domestic committee of the board of missions of the Protestant Episcopal church in the United States appointed the Rev. Zachariah Goldsmith as missionary to Davenport, and on the 14th of October of the same year Trinity church was organized. The first wardens were Ira Cook and J. W. Parker. H. S. Finley was the first secretary and Ebenezer Cook the first treasurer. W. W. Dodge was also a member of the first vestry. After the organization of the parish, the congregation worshiped in a building on Main street near where the Commercial club now stands. In 1853 a new church was built upon the corner of Fifth and Rock Island streets. This was the first church built of stone in the state of Iowa.
In the meantime work had been developing in the more important towns, and in July, 1853, the Rt. Rev. Jackson Kemper, D. D., the venerable missionary bishop of the northwest, issued an invitation to the clergy and representatives of all orgainized congregations in the state of Iowa to meet at Muscatine on Wednesday, August 17th, at 6 o'clock. In accordance with this invitation the clergy and laity met in the chapel of Trinity church, Muscatine. The bishop being absent, the Rev. Alfred Louderback, rector of Trinity church, Davenport, was elected chairman. A constitution and canons for the church in Iowa were adopted and the election of a bishop for Iowa determined upon. On May 31, 1854, the first convention of the diocese of Iowa was held in Trinity church, Davenport, being called to order by Bishop Kemper. At this convention, the Rev. Henry Washington Lee, D. D., was elected the first bishop of Iowa. Dr. Lee was at the time the rector of St. Luke's church, Rochester, N. Y. He was consecratee in his parish church October 18, 1854. Bishop Lee preached in his diocese for the first time October 29th, in St. John's church, Dubuque. Bishop Lee was an earnest, large-minded and large-hearted man. He gave himself to his work with unsparing devotion and with great foresigtedness undertook the creation of a fund which should adequately endow the diocese. Through the liberality, chiefly, of eastern churchmen, he obtained means for the purchase of some 6,500 acres of land in Iowa, which land was held until, through increase in value, sales were made which paid for the erection of the Episcopal residence, Brady and Eleventh streets, Davenport, at a cost of $21,000, and netted an endowment of $53,000 for the diocese.
On the 1st day of August, 1856, Bishop Lee prchased for $36,000 the property in Davenport known as "Iowa College," situated between Brady and Harrison streets and Eleventh and Twelfth streets. In this building on the 12th of December, he opened the preparatory department of Griswold college. Subsequently the college itself was founded and for many years gave promise of a useful future. The bishop's plans were wise, his labors indefatigable, his courage was great, but no one could have foreseen the changes which were coming in educational work. After nearly twenty years of useful activity the college had to be closed. Bishop Lee, however, had passed away many years before.
When Bishop Lee came to Davenport he found that several families had left Trinity church and were anxious to start work in the new residence district on the hill. He gave consent to the formation of a new parish to be known as St. Luke's. The congregation worshiped for a time in the old Baptish church on Brady between Third and Fourth streets. The first rector was the Rev. George W. Watson, D. D., who was followed by the Rev. Horatio N. Powers, D. D. During Dr. Powers' rectorship a new church was built at the northwest corner of Seventh and Brady streets. There were financial difficulties and the church was eventually sold to the Presbyterians. It is now the Academy of Sciences. A chapel was built on the college property, at the southwest corner of Main and Twelfth streets, where the congregation worshiped until June 18, 1873, when it became Grace Cathedral parish, but was known as "The Bishop's Church," and took possession of the beautiful and expensive building which had been erected, near the bishop's house, on the block between Brady and Main streets.
Trinity had in the meantime moved up to Brady and Seventh streets. Here Mrs. Clarissa C. Cook had erected a fine stone building in memory of her husband, the Hon. Ebenezer Cook, who for thirty years was a vestryman of Trinity parish and its most devoted and unwearied friend.
On the 26th of September, 1874, Bishop Lee passed to his rest. He had worked hard and had seen the diocese make substantial growth in resources, numbers and in influence. On May 30, 1876, in St. Paul's, Des Moines, the Rev. William Stevens Perry, D. D., of Geneva, N. Y., was elected bishop of Iowa. Bishop Perry, already widely known through the important positions held in the church's general councils and in pastoral and collegiate relations, received a most hearty welcome throughout the entire diocese. He labored faithfully until his death, May 13, 1898. During his episcopate the diocese doubled in the number of its communicants, St. Katharine's school was founded, and St. Luke's hospital undertaken. The diocese was most materially benefited by the bequests of a faithful communicant, who was one of the most efficient church workers in Iowa from the early days until her death - Mrs. Clarissa C. Cook, widow of the Hon. Ebenezer Cook, of Davenport. Besides liberal gifts for the building and equipment of a public library and a home for the aged in Davenport, she gave to the Episcopal church in Iowa for various objects upward of $75,000. These funds have been carefully invested and the income still helps the work of the church which she so greatly loved and for which she labored so unselfishly.
During the episcopate of Bishop Perry the work of the Davenport parishes went on faithfully and successfully.
On the 22d of February, 1899, the Rev. Theodore Nevin Morrison, D. D., rector of the Church of the Epiphany, Chicago, was consecrated the third Bishop of Iowa. During his Episcopate it became apparent to every one that the best interests and the future growth of the Episcopal church in Davenport would be served by a union of Trinity and Grace Cathedral parishes. In December, 1909, a movement was made looking to such a union, and it at once received the hearty support of all the members of both parishes. The members of Grace Cathedral parish connected themselves with Trinity parish. The service on Christmas day was held in Trinity church and on Sunday, Dec. 26th, the united congregation worshiped in the cathedral. The corporation of Trinity parish was thus prepetuated and the cathedral is now known as Trinity cathedral. Thus at last Bishop Lee's original purpose has been carried out, for in his annual address to the Diocesan convention of 1873, he said: "My own desire had been to have a united parish, under some acceptable arrangement as a Diocesan or Cathedral church, and to give to the building the name of Trinity, as that of the original church." The rectors of Trinity church have been:
The Rev. Zachariah Goldsmith, 1841; the Rev. Alfred Louderback, 1849; the Rev. F. Emerson Judd, 1861; the Rev. A. H. Stubbs, 1865; the Rev. R. W. Boyd, D. D., 1869; the Rev. Willis H. Barris, 1870, minister in charge; the Rev. J. E. Goodhue, 1871; the Rev. Willis H. Bartis, 1877, minister in charge; the Rev. Philo W. Sprague, 1878, canon in charge; the Rev. D. C. Garrett, 1884; the Rev. Myron A. Johnson, D. D., 1891; the Rev. Clinton H. Weaver, S. T. D., 1894; the Rev. A. E. Montgomery, 1901; the Rev. Gasherie DeWitt Dowling, 1904.
The rectors of St. Luke's were: the Rev. Horatio N. Powers, D. D., 1857-1865.
The rectors of the Bishop's church were: The Rt. Rev. Henry W. Lee, D. D., ex-officio; the Rev. Horatio N. Powers, D. D., assistant in charge, 1865-1869; the Rev. Hale Townsend, assistant in charge, 1865-1972; the Rev. R. D. Brooke, assistant in charge, 1869-1873; the Rev. Edward Lounsbery, assistant in charge, 1870-1874; the Rev. Joseph S. Jenckes, assistant in charge, 1875-1877.
On April 1, 1877, the "Bishop's Church" gave way to a cathedral organization, and the Rev. W. H. Barris, D. D., became dean. The canon in charge was the Rev. W. W. Silvester. In 1882, the Rev. Harry Thompson was appointed canon in charge. In 1884 the Rev. Charles H. Kellogg was appointed canon in charge. The Rev. Charles R. Hale became dean in 1886; the Rev. Charles H. Seymour being canon in 1886. In 1893, the Rev. William C. Rogers was appointed canon. The Rev. Hamilton Schuyler became dean in 1896.
In September, 1899, the cathedral organization was allowed to lapse and the congregation organized as Grace Cathedral parish. The vestry called the Rev. Nassau S. Stephens, who took charge Oct. 1, 1899. In 1905, the Rev. W. W. Love became the rector. The Rev. Marmaduke Hare, M. D., accepted a call to the rectorship and entered on his duties Jan. 1, 1908. The bishop has conferred upon Dr. Hare the honorary title of dean.
Beside the Cathedral parish there is Christ church at the corner of Third and Pine streets. Christ church is ministered to by the chaplain of St. Katharine's school. There is a small frame church building and a substantial rectory.
St. Katharine's school has been for some years under the care of the sisters of St. Mary. It is in a most prosperous condition and has within the past few years added to its property the handsome house and five acres of ground known as "the Renwick property" which adjoined the school, giving an increased capacity and providing room for growth. The school has a high reputation for scholarship and sends graduates yearly to the women's colleges of the east. The home life has always been a feature of the school and year by year the number of pupils increases and come from a greater distance.
BISHOP HENRY W. LEE
Henry W. Lee, the first Episcopal bishop of Iowa, was born in Hamden, Connecticut, on the 29th of July, 1815. A few months later his father removed to Springfield, Massachusetts, where the son spent his youthful days and received his education. In October, 1839, he was ordained to the ministry of the Episcopal church by Bishop Griswold. He was called to be rector of Christ at Springfield in April, 1840, where he remained three years. He then accepted a call to St. Luke's church, at Rochester, New York, where he remained eleven years. The degree of D. D. was conferred upon him by Hobart college in 1850 and by the University of Rochester in 1852. In 1867 the degree of LL.D. was conferred on him by the University of Cambridge, England. On the 1st of June, 1854, Dr. Hnery W. Lee was elected bishopof the diocese of Iowa and on the 18th of October was consecrated at Rochester in the presence of the bishps of New York, Massachusetts, Maine, Michigan and Illinois, Bishop Eastman of Vermont presiding. Bishop Lee made a visit to the principal churches of Iowa in the fall of that year and in January, 1855, removed to Davenport. He immediately entered upon the work of raising a permanent fund for the diocese which was wisely invested in more than six thousand acres of land which, as the years went by, became valuable yielding a large income. He was instrumental in founding Griswold college at Davenport, which was opened in 1860. In 1867 he made a visit to the principal countries of Europe, preaching in some of the largest churches of England, France and Ireland. After an arduous service of twenty years as bishop of Iowa, Henry W. Lee died at his home on the 26th of September, 1874. The last great work he gave to the diocese was the erection of Trinity cathedral at Davenport.
ST. JOHN'S METHODIST EPIACOPAL
The first arrival of the Methodist church in Scott county to minister to things spiritual was in 1835. The first messenger sent was the Rev. E. C. Gavit, of the Ohio conference, who in the year 1835 was requested by the bishop to go west and labor among the Sac and Fox Indians. He was also to visit all the white settlements to provide the scattered inhabitants with the means of grace. He was expected to bear his own expenses in reaching the country and to trust God and the good will of the few white settlers for his support. Father Gavit and Captain Sholes in the year 1835 built a frame house, which was the second erected in that vicinity, and in which he preached his first sermon and organized the first Sunday school in what is now the city of Davenport. His missionary labors, however, were not confined to this locality. He traveled from the Missouri state line to St. Anthony's falls, preaching in all the towns and hunting up all the white settlers along the west side of the Mississippi as far back as he could learn of any white inhabitants. In the year 1837 Father Gavit left this field of labor and returned to Ohio. In 1887, after more than fifty years of marvelous growth, which has made the little hamlet a prosperous city, the venerable man of God returned, to find all changed, his dusky auditors gone, and a large, intelligent audience ready and delighted to listen as he recalled the past and thrilled them with the "Old, old story."
In order to give intelligently the history of the Methodist Epscopal church in Davenport in its beginning, it is necessary to note the development of the same in connection with the work of Methodism in Rock Island and in Rockingham, Iowa, under the auspices of the Illinois conference. In order to obtain this retrospect it is necessary to rely mainly on the information kindly frunished by two of the members of the first Methodist society formed in Davenport, W. L. Cook and Israel Hall.
In the minutes of the Illinois conference held at Union Grove, Illinois, September, 1833, Rock Island is named as a mission of the Quincy district, with Peter Cartwright presiding elder and Asa McMurtry preacher for Rock Island. The latter preached a few times in Rockingham, Iowa. In the conference minutes of 1834 D. C. James is the preacher named for the Rock Island mission. He preached quite often at Rockingham. In August, 1836, the Methodist society was organized at Rockingham and a class formed, consisting of about seven or eight members. A. H. Davenport was appointed elder. This society was then a mission of the Illinois conference. At a meeting of that conference held at Springfield, October, 1836, the Rockingham circuit was formed, believed to be the third circuit organized in Iowa, and Chauncey Hobart, who died in Red Wing, Minnesota, within a year or two ago, at the advanced age of ninety years, was sent to take charge of the work. This was a circuit of about two hundred miles, extending from the mouth of the Iowa river on the south to the Wapsipinicon on the north, and as far into the interior as any white settlers would be found. A society was to be formed wherever a sufficient number could be found willing to so unite.
Chauncey Hobart had been a soldier in the Black Hawk war and was well fitted by experience to endure all the hardships of such a field of labor. He traveled a country whose roadways were illy defined, its streams unbridged, and its inhabitants widely scattered. Rockingham was the only town of any importance within the bounds of the circuit, and during the first winter there were but two other regular appointments, one at a little town called Black Hawk, near the mouth of the Iowa river, and one at the home of Roswell H. Spencer, in Pleasant Valley. About sixty members were gathered into the church and the next year the number of appointments was increased. But the society at Rockingham remained the center and probably contained more members than all the others together. In the year 1838 Chauncey Hobart was succeeded by his brother, Norris Hobart. In 1839 H. J. Brace was placed in charge, assisted by B. H. Cartwright, brother of the well known Peter Cartwright, and with this year began the history proper of the Methodist Episcopal church in Davenport.
Near the middle of August, 1839, the presiding elder, Rev. B. Weed, thought there was sufficient encouragement and members enough to form a church organization in this place. Accordingly he authorized William L. Cook to sever his connection with the church in Rockingham, and if he could succeed in finding enough members, to form a class in Davenport. His search among the Protestant settlers resulted in finding five persons beside himself and wife who had been members of the Methodist Episcopal church. A meeting was called at the home of Timothy Dillon, grandfather of Hon. John F. Dillon, situated on what is now Third street near Washington square. There were present at this meeting William L. Cook and wife, Timothy Dillon and wife, Israel Hall and W. J. Ruby and wife. All of these brought their church letters and responded with glad service to the call to unite in the wilderness and build for themselves and their children a new church home. William L. Cook was chosen leader of this class and for more than forty years thereafter filled the office of class leader and steward of the Methodist church. From time to time others added their names to the class roll until in 1840, when Rev, Chester Campbell was preacher, there were about twenty members. Among the first of these was Rachel Hall, who did not reach here until some days after her husband; William Moran, Susan Morgan, Margaret A. Bowling, now Mrs. Paden, and David Miller and wife. A little later came Father Woodward and family. Sister Woodward was spoken of as a mother in Israel. Two families by the name of Morgan, descendants of Quakers, were prompt and faithful in attending church. The society met regularly each Sabbath, generally at the house of Timothy Dillon, until the number had grown too large for private houses, when other rooms as they could be procured were rented for service. Having only occasional preaching in 1840, they sent a request to conference for a stationary preacher. Francis H. Chenowith was sent and Davenport became a regular station. In the year of 1841 it was determined to build a church. The society was small in number and not rich save in faith. Nevertheless they purchased a lot on the west side of Perry street, between Fourth and Fifth streets, which was then considered out of town, and prepared to build a brick chapel thirty by forty feet. That may seem today a small undertaking, but relatively it was a great one. It is said that at that time all of the members were poor. The most of them could put all their worldly goods in a wagon and move out west. The Rev. Chenowith was granted a vacation and commissioned to go to Ohio where many of the members had formerly lived, and solicit aid for the enterprise. Money, or what was convertible into money, was gratefully received and about two hundred dollars was realized by this effort. This was the last year of Rev. Chenowith's stay in Davenport. While here he married the daughter of Andrew Logan, editor and proprietor of the Iowa Sun, the first paper published in Davenport. The preacher sent by the Illinois conference, which met in Rock Island, August 24, 1842, was David Worthington who was a man greatly beloved by all. This minister, being a carpenter by trade, like Paul, labored, working with his own hands. The church walls were up and the preacher with a few others went to work and succeeded in putting the roof on, the floor laid and the windows in in time for the first quarterly meeting, which was held December 24, 1842, Rev. B. Weed, presiding elder. This quarterly meeting was protracted five or six weeks and about fifty members were added to the church. At the conference of 1844 Joseph S. Lewis, of Cincinnati, was sent here. Unlike his predecessors, while through no fault of his own, he could not adapt himself to pioneer life. Well educated, a good preacher he was, but one not fitted to bring himself into sympathy with the community in which he labored. At this time the only church property which the Methodist Episcopal church had in Davenport was this small brick building on Perry street, below Fifth, about opposite where the Kimball House stands - a church with no parsonage, no fence, no carpet, no pulpit except a sort of big pine box used for that purpose, and with seats made of slabs, flat side up, supported by legs inserted into two-inch auger holes. There was a mortgage of $150 on the lot - a bigger load then than $15,000 would be today. In 1845 Rev. Harrison was sent. He did not finish the conference year, his place being filled by Joseph Brook, an able and popular man.
In 1846 Davenport station was discontinued and the appointment was attached to Fairport circuit and Cedar mission. The preachers were William Simpson and William Burris. It is recorded of the former that in every position he was the same noble-hearted man. William Burris preached one year and then left the ministry and settled in Davenport. In 1847 Joel B. Taylor and Asbury Collier were the circuit preachers. In 1848 Davenport station again appeared in the minutes, Joel B. Taylor being the station preacher. He was in the ministry for thirty-eight years, and the societies at Epworth, Camanche and Clinton were founded by him. He died in 1881. In 1849 John L. Kelley, who entered the itinerary in 1836, was the preacher. In 1850 Landon Taylor was sent. In 1851 Rev. James Gilruth and wife became members of the church at Davenport. He afterward preached here and was well liked by all. In the number embracing the religion at this time (1851) was Miss Mary Price, who later became the wife of Dr. Robert L. Collier, then stationed at Davenport. The station preacher in 1852 was A. J. Kynette, the last preacher to occupy the pulpit in the little old church. In 1854 Sanford Haines was sent, and in 1855 I. P. Lindeman. During the latter's administration, through no fault of his, there was a schism in the church. About fifty members organized a society and built a house which they called Asbury chapel, which was situated on the east of Perry, between Third and Fourth streets. Rev. Lindeman went with the new society and stayed with them the remainder of that year and the following. His place at the Fifth Street church was filled by the Rev. William Cone. The new society was next served by Samuel Pancoast, followed by Richard Wertz. This society held together for a short time afterward, but eventually the chapel was burned and the society disbanded, some of the members going back to the parent church, some of other churches, and others living without any church home.
Rev. J. G. Demmit was presiding elder from 1852 to 1855, when the Davenport charge was part of the Dubuque district. In the '60s he was stationed at Davenport. During the pastorate of Landon Taylor the membership of the church was doubled, and soon after when his successor, Dr. Kynette, arrived, it was found necessary to provide a larger building. It was first agreed to purchase a lot upon which a part of the Rock Island station now stands, but finally the lot upon the corner of Fifth and Brady was decided upon and preparations were begun for the building of the church. In the autumn of 1853 the work had so far progressed that the basement was occupied for services during the following winter. The building was finished the next summer and was dedicated in 1854. Rev. James I. Watson preached the dedication sermon and Rev. Henry Clay Dean preached in the evening. Dr. Kynette was pastor in charge during these two years. The church was soon paid for and a parsonage built. In 1856 the Upper Iowa conference was formed and Davenport became a part of it. The first preacher sent was Rev. W. R. Keeler, later dean of the School of Theology, Central Tennessee college. In 1857 G. D. Brown came to the church and labored until May, 1858, and on the 26th of that month, after a few days of great suffering, entered into rest. He was succeeded in the pastorate by the Rev. Robert L. Collier, who later gained worldwide repute as a pulpit orator.
The ten years closing with 1866 were years of steady growth and prosperity. The church was then under the care of C. J. Truesdale. The congregation was still larger in 1867, when the Rev A. B. Kindig succeeded to the pastorate. It was decided that the Fifth Street church was too small and a division of the membership was made at a meeting of the official board February 25th of that year. March 1st, the trustees reported the purchase of a lot at the corner of Fourteenth and Brady streets and a resolution was passed to proceed at once to build a church edifice thereon. A tabernacle for the temporary use of the society was ordered. March 8th it was reported ready for use and March 25th the building committee were authorized to procure plans and let the contract for a two-story building, forty-four by seventy-six feet. About eighty members of the parent society went to form the new one and Rev. J. C. Irwin, then of Moline, was asked to come and take charge of the church. The new church was dedicated in 1867 and Rev. Thomas Eddy preached the sermon. The first pastor was Emery Miller. the report for 1868 was: Fifth Street church, full membership, 243; Fourteenth Street church, full membership, eighty-one: total, 324. The report for 1888 showed: Fifth Street church, 297; Fourteenth Street church, 220; total, 517. The net gain in twenty years was 193. The Fourteenth Street church maintained a mission in East Davenport for many years at Spring Street church. Cook chapel, Gilruth chapel, and Fourteenth Street church were all offshoots of the parent church. While the society occupied the little old church the conference was held in it. Bishop Waugh presided at that conference. At the conference of 1863 it was decided that the railroad trains on Fifth street interfered too much with the church services, and permission was granted to sell the property, and the lot upon which the next church then stood was purchased at a cost of $6,000. It was expected that $12,000 and the proceeds of the old church probably would pay for the new site and build the church. In February, 1872, plans for the building were submitted, and on March 8th the committee let the contract for the building at Ninth street. The building was completed and furnished and was dedicated February 9, 1873. Bishop Andrews preached the didicatory sermon. The full membership was 168, and Rev. Emery Miller was pastor. In 1879 Dr. Rhea was pastor. The Women's Foreign Missionary society was organized in 1874, and the Home Missionary society in 1883.
With the close of the conference of 1899 the First Methodist Episcopal church and the Fourteenth Street Methodist church ceased to exist, and the Central Methodist Episcopal church was organized, through the reunion of the two former churches. Then in 1902 the cornerstone of the present magnificent stone structure was laid, and on December 13, 1903, it was dedicated, Dr. J. F. Barry, now Bishop Barry, preaching the dedicatory sermon on that occasion.
The characteristic features of St. John's church, which took the name after the new structure was built, is well worth a passing notice. In type it is the revival of a very old English gothic, and is probably the only similar structure in this country. In design it is plain, chaste, original, massive, churchly; in execution, endurance and solid worth are the dominant purposes, and a church has been constructed that will not soon grow old. P. T. Burrows, of Davenport, was the designing architect, and F. G. Clausen was the superintending architect. The church property as it now stands cost $112,000, and is free from debt. The parsonage itself cost $12,000. The present membership of the church is 1,030, whole that of the Sunday school is 623.
The following pastors presided in Davenport since 1864 at the Fifth Street church: Henry Paylies, from 1864 to 1866; A. B. Kendig, 1866 to 1868; I. K. Fuller, 1868 to 1869; J. S. Anderson, 1870-71; Emery Miller, 1871-74; T. McClary, 1874-75; A. C. Manwell, 1875-78; J. H. Rhea, 1878-81; F. E. Brush, 1881-84; J. S. McCord, 1884-87; J. G. Van Ness, 1887-88; U. Z. Gilmer, 1888-89; J. S. McCord, 1891-95; F. W. Loos, 1895-98; H. O. Pratt, 1898. At the Fourteenth Street church were Emery Miller, 1867-68; C. W. Copeland, 1868-69; U. F. Paxton, 1869-71; R. W. Keeler, 1871-72; William Fawcett, 1872-76; E. Skinner, 1876-77; H. S. Church, 1877-80; S. W. Heald, 1880-83; William Lease, 1883-86; T. E. Fleming, 1886-87; J. B. Casebeer and J. S. McIntyre, 1887-88; J. S. McIntyre, 1888-89; Rev. McCurdy, 1899. Under H. O. Pratt and Rev. McCurdy the Central Methodist Episcopal church was organized. After this union the first pastor was Rev. Dr. W. F. Bartley, who remained until 1901. From 1901 to 1904 F. L. Thompson was pastor; from 1904 until 1907, L. C. Lemon, who was followed in 1907 by J. A. Burchit, the present pastor.
THE CHRISTIAN CHURCH
On a bright Sunday morning, July 28, 1839, a small band of men and women might have been seen wending their way to the home of D. C. Eldridge, a small brick house on the northeast corner of Third and Main streets. This gathering was the result of many conferences and much thought and prayer, for these earnest Christians purposed in their heart the banding of themselves into a congregation for united religious work. In this meeting plans for organization were discussed and future work contemplated. Elder James T. Rumbold was chosen as pastor, and the First Christian church of Davenport was organized with the following charter members: James Rumbold, Sr., and Mrs. Catherine Rumbold, James Rumbold, Jr., John Owens, Mrs. Eunice Owens, Miss Elizabeth Meeks, Miss Rhoda Owens, George H. Tapley, Richard S. Craig, Mrs. Mahalia Craig, Duncan C. Eldridge, Mrs. Rebecca Eldridge, Thomas Marsh, Mrs. Betsy Marsh, John Carroll, Sr., and Mrs. Elizabeth Carroll, sixteen in all. That was seventy years ago last July. In September of the same year there were added to the membership; James Glaspell, Mrs. Jane Glaspell, Silas Glaspell, Gabriel McArthur, Mrs. Elizabeth McArthur, Miss Ruth Glaspell and William Hickson. So far as is known every charter member of this church is deceased and but few of the members of its first years are here upon earth. The church grew rapidly and the members felt that as a church they were not properly organized, for they were well-informed Christians. They had come from Louisville and Covington, Kentucky, and from Cincinnati, Ohio, and the vicinity of these cities, and their conversion had been under the preaching of such men as Alexander Campbell, Walter Scott, James Challen and D. S. Burnett. So they now proceeded to elect officers according to the plan of the New Testament churches. James Rumbold and James Glaspell were chosen elders, with George H. Tapley, clerk. Meetings continued to be held at the home of Mr. Eldridge until the congregation had outgrown this place and it became necessary to arrange for more commodious quarters. It was then that George Tapley offered his carpenter shop on the corner of Fourth and Brady streets for their use. All during the week the noise of hammer and saw was heard there. But on Saturday night the owner prepared for the Sunday audience. Though the seats were but rough boards, those occupying them made no complaint, and in those days one heard no expression of grievance against the janitor. And after all, the carpenter shop was not an unfitting meeting place for the followers of the humble Nazarene. Its associations could not be otherwise than Christ-like, for His hand once shoved the plane. About this time a prayer meeting was started at the home of R. S. Craig and from that on prayer meetings were held from house to house. They held their Sunday meetings in Mr. Tapley's shop for about a year. Elder Rumbold still occupied the pulpit. Soon the carpenter shop became too small and D. C. Eldridge and James Rumbold waited on Antoine LeClaire, who owned the land in that part of town, and succeeded in getting the donation of the lot on the east side of Brady street between Fourth and Fifth streets. There is a tradition to the effect that among his other peculiarities Mr. LeClaire had one of wearing his hat in such a manner as to indicate his temper. So these two men visited him several times before laying their petition before him, waiting for his hat to assume a favorable position. The laid-forward position was the inflammable one, the one he used to keep people and petitioners out. On these occasions Mr. Eldridge and Mr. Rumbold merely talked over general subjects and then bowed themselves from his presence. But happening in one day when his hat was pushed well back on his head, they instantly made known their desire, which was cheerfully granted. On the lot donated by Antoine LeClaire a meeting house was erected at a cost of about $300. Shortly after this the Sanfords, Lesslies, Sanders, Lyters and Grays were added to the congregation, greatly increasing its strength and efficiency; and then followed such pastors as Dr. Horatio Gatchell, Charles Levan, James Gaston and Jonas Hartzell. It was during the ministry of Rev. Rev. Hartzell that this last church became too small and the congregation met in the courthouse until the second chuch was built on the site of the first one, at a cost of $1,200. This structure was occupied in 1854 without a dollar's indebtedness. Many years afterward the second building was sold and became Hibernian Hall. It was soon after moving into the new church that the little band had a visit from Alexander Campbell. Their appreciation of him was indicated by the fact that he preached on this occasion for more than two hours, and not only held his audience to the last but the time seemed all too short. This, however, was no unusual thing with him, and not only was this true of Mr. Campbell, but most sermons in those days were long, ranging from forty-five minutes to twice that length, and the people seldom grew tired listening. Following the ministry of Elder Hartzell the next three pastors were: Eli Rigdon, Samuel Law and James Challen. It is under the ministry of Elder Challen that the church reached its way to prosperity, and it was during this period that the Rock Island congregation, which up to that time had worshiped with the Davenport church, felt strong enough to form themselves into an organization of their own. Rev. Challen was a great preacher and a facile writer, courtly, dignified and cultured. Everyone admired and loved him.
The Sunday school was large and full of interest and enthusiasm. There were no "helps" in those days in the way of International lessons. Each teacher and officer took his turn at leading and the lessons came fresh from the Holy Book itself. The pupils learned verses from the Bible and the children would often repeat from memory from fifty to one hundred verses that they had learned during the week. Rev. Challen was followed in the pastorate by Revs. J. B. Johnson, H. H. Black, J. Carroll Stark, Gilbert J. Ellis, J. F. Ghormley, W. H. Martin, J. T. H. Stewart, J. Mad. Willams, E. W. Johnson, L. lane, C. C. Davis and A. Martin. In 1874 Isaac Errett came west to attend the commencement of the State University of Iowa. While in Davenport he talked with Mrs. M. A. Sanders concerning the organizing of the women of the Christian church in the United States into missionary societies. Mrs. Sanders in turn conferred with the ladies of the church and when the National society of the C. W. B. M. was formed, the Davenport church had a society already organized in this work, and thus this church is the unknown to fame but real mother of the great International Christian Women's Board of Missions. During Rev. Ellis' ministry the Young People's Society of Christian Endeavor was organized, and to his and Mrs. Ellis' interest and zeal the success of this society belongs. Then the old property on Brady street was sold and druing the ministry of Rev. Ghormley the present church edifice was erected, and the other large churches followed it up the hill. The present pastor, S. M. Perkins, came to the church in February, 1908. The members of the church now number over 500, and during Rev. Perkins' work here there have been 275 accessions to the church.
The Frist Congregational church of Davenport grew out of a Sunday school organized in May, 1839, by a few members of the First Presbyterian church. Only two Congregational churches in the state antedate this, which was formed by twelve persons, July 30, 1839. For some time the members met in various places, chiefly private dwelling houses, and a deacon read the printed sermons of eastern preachers. In 1840 Rev. J. P. Stuart, who had been sent to Stephenson, (Rock Island) and vicinity, preached from July to December of that year. From the latter date until June of 1841, Rev. Oliver Emerson ministered. Rev. Allen B, Hitchcock, a graduate of Yale, came in 1841, and remained till 1844. During his pastorate a building, thirty-eight by twenty-four, was erected upon a lot on Fifth and Main streets, which had been secured by the exchange of one donated by the famous Antoine LeClaire. The pastor, who had learned the carpenter's trade, and three of the members, built this edifice, all contributing their services. This structure was twice enlarged to accommodate the growing congregation. At the completion of the second improvement in 1855 the roof caved in, necessitating repairs at great sacrifice to the members. Rev. Ephraim Adams, still living at Waterloo, Iowa, followed Mr. Hitchcock, being installed in 1847. He remained until 1855, when Rev. George F. Magoun came. The latter was a man of high intellectual attainments and a preacher of great ability. Under his ministry there were repeated revivals and large accessions to the membership. The land area was increased and plans were made for a very large edifice. In 1857 the financial crash came and the church was prostrated. The members suffered great financial losses, and became disheartened. An otherwise small debt weighed heavily upon them, and despite all efforts, aided by the advice of a council, by 1860 the church was practically disbanded after a prosperous existence of twenty-one years. The membership had run up to 250. For almost a year the church was closed, mute witness of hard times, financially and spiritually.
Rev. William Windsor, sent out by the Home Missionary society organized the Edwards church with twenty-six members, August 17, 1861. Mr. Windsor remained five years, gathering over 100 members, brought the church to self-support, and raised the salary from $400 to $1,000. A prosperous work of four and one-half years under the leadership of Rev. J. A. Hamilton followed, and the membership rose from 120 to 273. Dr. J. G. Merrill followed and remained ten years, 1872-1882. Under him in 1873 the main part of the present edifice was erected. In 1881 its interior was completely destroyed by fire. This damage was quickly repaired and the building made more serviceable than before. The pastorate of Dr. Merrill was remarkably prosperous. During this period Bethlehem hall was erected for the mission in West Davenport, which had been inaugurated in the closing years of Dr. Hamilton's work. When Dr. Merrill left the church roll numbered 314 names. Upward of 1,600 persons have belonged to the Edwards church; among them many of the most substantial people of the city.
In 1894 the Bethlehem mission was organized into a church, several members of Edwards church voluntarily taking their letters and constituting the nucleus of the new organization. This mission became later the Bethlehem Congregational church which recently merged with the German Congregational church as the Bereab church of which Rev. R. K. Atkinson is pastor.
Nor is this all of Congregationalism in Davenport, for in 1854 the German Congregational church was organized.
As early as 1890 plans for the chapel addition began to be considered, as the auditorium was inadequate for any expansion of the Sunday school or other work in the interest of Christian nurture. The accummulation of money for this extension began, but the whole matter received a set-back during the period of financial depression, 1892-1896. At the annual meeting, January, 1900, the church voted to raise money for renovating the church and building a chapel on the rear of the lot. On November 4th, of the same year, the present structure, costing $12,000, was dedicated and the church reopened after a thorough renovation without and within, costing about $4,000. These changes gave the Edwards congregation one of the best church plants in the state. During the year $11,000 of the amount needed for these improvements was raised in cash and pledges.
Up to 1904 Edwards church and society existed jointly, but the growing desire to incorporate as a church alone led to steps looking up to that end. Accordingly the legal proceedings necessary to the incorporation of Edwards church, and the termination of the ecclesiastical society formerly connected herewith, and the transference of the property to the church were regularly and properly taken. The final meeting when this business was transacted was held March 10, 1904.
Still another interesting chapter might be written about Iowa college, which, after much prayer and sacrifice, was incorporated in 1847 and opened in Davenport, November 1, 1848. Chief among its founders and supporters were Revs. Asa Turner, Julius A. Reed, A. B. Robbins and all the famous "Iowa Band." The city subscribed $1,365 and thirteen lots, and the twelve trustees, home missionary pastors on salaries of $400, gave $100 each. Once the college moved from the original location on Ripley street to the property now occupied by the Episcopal cathedral and the new high school. Disputes with the city regarding a street through the property, together with a gift of land and an opening at Grinnell, led to the removal thither in 1858, where the college has prospered under the presidencies of Dr. Magoun, Dr. Gates, Dr. Dan F. Bradley and J. H. T. Main.
MEMBERSHIP BY PERIODS.
1861, 26; 1865, 61; 1870, 170; 1875, 216; 1880, 322; 1885, 304; 1890, 317; 1895, 314; 1900, 325; 1905, 396; 1910, 455.
CHARTER MEMBERS OF FIRST CHURCH
Organized July 30, 1839
Strong Brunell, Olivia (Strong) Burnell, William S. Collins, Benjamin F. Coates, Jane C. Fessenden, John C. Holbrook, Cynthia (Mrs. John C.) Holbrook, Andonean Kendal, Mary C. (Mrs. Andonean) Kendal, Abraham Neely, Charlott (Mrs. Abraham) Neely.
PASTORS OF FIRST CHURCH
Rev. J. P. Stuart, June to December, 1840; Rev. Oliver Emerson, December 20, 1840, to June 20, 1841; Rev. Allen B. Hitchcock, September 12, 1841, to November 1, 1844; Rev. Ephraim Adams, D. D., November 1, 1844, to May 1, 1855; Rev. George F. Magoun, D. D., June, 1855, to September 9, 1860; Rev. William Windsor, August 17, 1861, to September 23, 1866; Rev. J. A. Hamilton, D. D., August 1, 1867, to November 30, 1871; Rev. J. G. Merrill, D. D., January 2, 1872, to August 31, 1882; Rev. Martin L. Williston, September 17, 1882, to January 1, 1888; Rev. A. W. Archibald, D. D., June 1, 1888, to November 15, 1892; Rev. B. F. Boller, January 1, 1893, to October 1, 1894; Rev. G. S. Rollins, D. D. December 1, 1894, to November 1, 1902; Rev. Charles A. Moore, Ph. D., February 1, 1903. Dr. Moore is now pastor of the church. During his recovery from serious illness Rev. W. J. Suckow, field secretary of Grinnell college, is serving as pulpit supply.
ST. PAUL'S ENGLISH EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN
Tradition has it that in the early '50s efforts were made to establish an English Lutheran church in Davenport, and it is a matter of regret that no documents of any kind are to be found save one, in which the banking firm of Cook & Sargent agree to convey to the trustees of the First English Evangelical Lutheran church of the city of Davenport lot 1 in block No. 3 in Green's second addition to the city of Davenport, for the consideration of one dollar, provided the said trustees erect thereon a two story building not less than forty by seventy feet. However, the conditions were not met. The names of the late Dr. Stukenberg, Rev. Kissel, and others, had been associated with these early attempts, but nothing permanent resulted until Rev. George W. Snyder was appointed the missionary by the board of home missions, his commission dating April 1, 1879. During the preceding year Rev. Snyder, in conjunction with Rev. G. W. Diveley, had canvassed the city and secured the signatures of some thirty persons desirous of becoming members of the new organization. These persons were not formed into a congregation until later. The missionary, not having a suitable place to hold services, started on a canvassing trip throughout the church, without holding nay religious meetings here until he had secured $4,000 dollars for the erection of a suitable place of worship. The lots on the corner of Main and Fourteenth streets, where the church and parsonage are located, were purchased at a total cost, including sewer and other expenses, of $1,740. The chapel, now part of the new edifice, and used as the Sunday school room, was erected during the fall of 1881 and spring of 1882. The first service therein was held January 22, 1882. The Sunday school was also organized that day with thirty-four present. Of the original signers of the constitution the following formed the nucleus of the new congregation:
H. B. Martin, Mrs. A. S. Martin, Mrs. Jane Rhodes, Bernhard Reilley, Mrs. Catherine Reilley, Miss Anna A. Reilley, Philip Garner, Mrs. Susan Garner, Miss Lucinda Garner, now Mrs. John Roth, and Mrs. Laura B. Snyder. The congregation having been received into connection with the Evangelical Lutheran synod of Iowa, on October 30, 1879, now began its real work. During the year 1882 sixteen new members were added to the church. Of these, who might be well considered the charter members, the following remain on the honor roll: Mrs. Jane Rhodes, Mrs. Catherine Reilley, Miss Anna A. Reilly, Mrs. Lucinda Roth, Miss Emma Heden, Miss Laura Rhodes, and J. A. Rhodes. Death has claimed several and others were dismissed by letter.
The chapel was dedicated on April 30, 1882, Rev. G. W. Stelling, D. D., then of Omaha, preaching the dedication sermon. Rev. J. W. Goodlin, the secretary of the board of home missions, was present, as well as Rev. S. D. Barnitz, the western secretary of the board, who assisted in the services. There was a whole week of rejoicing and preaching. The offerings on the following Sunday were sufficient to liquidate all indebtedness. The same fall the present parsonage was built at a cost of $2,292. Of this amount the board of church extension loaned the congregation $1,625. This indebtedness taxed the young mission for several years, but on June 5, 1889, the last farthing was paid. On April 1, 1891, Rev. George W. Snyder closed his pastorate at St. Paul's to assume the charge of a new mission at Council Bluffs. During the vacancy that occurred after the departure of Rev. Snyder, Rev. E. F. Bartholomew, D. D., from Augustana college, supplied the pulpit, and various brethren visited the church with a view of becoming the pastor. On the 7th of May, 1891, the present pastor, Rev. W. Henry Blancke, was invited to the pastorate, and on June 24, 1891, the call was accepted. The church and Sunday school increased and grew in number and efficiency. The chapel became too small to suit the needs of the congregation, so on February 26th, it having been determined to build a new church edifice, a building committee was appointed consisting of W. B. Murray, M. S. Like, F. L. Secoy, P. Paulson and A. H. Puttcamp, with full instructions to erect a building not to exceed in cost $12,000. A finance committee was also appointed consisting of H H. Vogt, Lars Johnsen, and Jacob Olsson. The pastor was an ex-officio member of both committees. At a final meeting of the congregation the bids and plans were submitted for a $22,000 structure, which were accepted, and on May 4, 1902, the beautiful edifice was dedicated with a total cost of $26,000, including organ and furnishings. Rev. E. F. Bartholomew, D. D., preached the dedication sermon in the morning and Rev. J. A. Wirt, D. D., of Des Moines, preached the evening sermon. At both these services the offerings amounted to nearly $6,000. Since Rev. Blancke's pastorate began up to the present time there have been received into the church over 300 new members, and the Sunday school has an enrollment of about 250. In connection with the church is a Young People's Luther league of about seventy-five members.
FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
When Mr. Barrows ended his chronicle of the First Presbyterian church the congregation was worshiping in the building which had been erected in 1853 on the north side of Third between Main and Harrison streets. Rev. J. D. Mason had resigned his pastorate and his successor had not been chosen. Rev. S. McAnderson came from Pennsylvania to fill the vacancy, commencing his service in January of 1860 and continuing until December 31, 1869. It was during this pastorate, in April, 1864, that the congregation sold the Third street church building to Woeber Brothers, carriage makers and bought St. Luke's church on the corner of Seventh and Brady streets. It was virtually an exchange as far as financial value is concerned, the consideration in each case being $6,000, although the construction cost of St. Luke's had been considerably more.
In the spring of 1870 Rev. J. B. Stewart, D. D., became pastor of church and continued in that relation until October 1, 1872. Next New Year's day Dr. C. D. Nott, a grandson of the Rev. Dr. Eliphalet Nott, president of Union college, came to the First church and remained until 1880. Rev. Dr. N. M. Clute next filled the pulpit and cared for the spiritual health of his people until May, 1885. Upon his resignation a search for his successor was made and it was almost a year before Dr. J. B. Little took up the work. The date was April, 1886, his installation following June 15, 1886.
In June, 1896, Dr. Little resigned and November 8 of the same year Rev. Dr. John B. Donaldson came from Minneapolis to succeed him. Preparations were begun for the erection of a new church building which should be more commodious, nearer the center of the parish and more in acccord with what is now considered a church building should be. March 18, 1898, ground was broken at the corner of Kirkwood boulevard and Iowa street. July 20th the corner stone was laid. December 17, 1899, the completed church was dedicated.
The new structure is built of Marquette brown stone which has a magnesian stain, known as the "rain drop" marking. It makes the warmest, richest, stateliest structure that heart could wish. The architecture is Romanesque, the tower in the style of Richardson the eminent Boston architect and the carved oak leaves and foliage in the gables are of renaissance design. The interior is octagonal in shape while the ceiling is marked with a Maltese cross and a Greek cross. Every convenience and adjunct has been given place in this splendid building and it is considered a model church home by all who have seen it.
In April, 1907, the old building on Third street which was the location of the First Presbyterian church congregation for so many years was torn down to make room for a fine business block.
July 22, 1907, Dr. Donaldson, greatly beloved by his people for his ready sympathy, pulpit excellence and spirituality, resigned. His successor, Rev. Leroy M. Coffman, of Sidney, Ohio, accepted a call to this church, April 26, 1908, and has since his removal to Davenport been the shepherd of the flock. He has been assisted for some months by Rev. H. C. Anderson, who has special charge of the work at Newcomb chapel.
MCCLELLAN HEIGHTS UNITED PRESBYTERIAN
The Associate Reformed Presbyterian church, a lineal ancestor of the United Presbyterian church, was organized in Davenport on October 21, 1854. There was at this time a membership of ten. Rev. William Graham was the pastor and Thomas M. Patterson and Alexander Blair were elected ruling elders. The organization had property at the corner of Tenth and Scott streets. In 1858, through the union of the Associated and Associate Reformed Presbyterian denominations the United Presbyterian church was formed, and from that time on the Davenport organization was known by that name. In the spring of 1883 the congregation disposed of its property on Scott street and purchased propetty on the corner of Eleventh and Brady streets. The work continued in this new location under many ministries and with varying degrees of success until the year 1905. In the summer of that year Alexander Gilchrist, D. D., secretary of the United Presbyterian Board of Home Missions, visited the Davenport field and, considering the work unsatisfactory, appointed Rev. W. R. Cox to be the acting pastor, with a view to bettering the efficiency of the church. After some months spent in getting acquainted with the condition of the congregation and the needs of the city, it was decided to rebuild in a new location. The old congregation was dissolved and a new one organized May 15, 1906. A building site was secured at the corner of Jersey Ridge road and Fulton avenue. Here work was begun at once and the new church was dedicated September 29, 1907. Messrs. John Vander Heyden, Arthur Peterson and S. C. Gard were elected and ordained ruling elders. A. W. Jamieson was chosen chairman of the congregation. The membership of the new organization consisted of about thirty earnest, zealous people, who have not hesitated to grapple with the problems of a new work in a new field, and they have been signally blessed with a steady progress. Rev. W. R. Cox continued in the work till March, 1908. Rev. W. O. Chisholm took up the work in August, 1908, and still is with this people. The membership is now sixty-five.
FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH
The earliest record books of this church have been lost, which make it difficult to the historian to give a complete and accurate account of its organization. However, in 1899 the twenty-first anniversary of the church was held, at which the pastor of that day, Arthur M. Judy, and others, supplied most of the missing links in papers read upon that interesting occasion. The paper of Major Morton L. Marks appears to be the most pertinent to the subject. He relates:
"On June 28, 1868, Rev. Laird Collier preached afternoon and evening in the Burtis opera house to congregations which 'would have filled to overflowing any church in the city.' After the evening meeting the first recorded step toward the organization of the Unitarian church in Davenport was taken by adoption of a motion offered by Dr. Barrows, that a Liberal church be organized. Sixty-three signatures of ladies and gentlemen who favored such an organization having been obtained, a committee consisting of H. Darlington, John Gallagan, A. Kimball, W. A. Remington and Dr. D. C. Roundy was appointed to canvass the matter further and report at an adjourned meeting in the opera house Tuesday, June 30th, two days later. The meeting having come together at the appointed time, the church was organized by the adoption of articles of association. At the same meeting the following trustees were elected: A. H. Bennett, Howard Darlington, John Gallagan, Dr. D. C. Roundy and A. Kimball. Twenty-eight signatures were secured at this meeting and it was decided to secure the services of a pastor. During the summer the pulpit was supplied as follows: July 19th, by Rev. Robert Collier, of Chicago; July 26th, by Rev. W. S. Haywood, of Boston; August 23d, by Rev. F. E. Kitridge, of Concord, New Hampshire; August 26th, by Rev. McDaniel, of Brighton, Massachusetts; September 27, 1868, and on the following Sunday, Rev. N. Seaver, of Boston, preached morning and afternoon at the Burtis opera house, and early in October the society extended to him a call to fill the pulpit, which he accepted and entered upon his pastoral duties Novenber 14, 1868. February 16, 1871, articles of incorporation were filed by the following persons: D. C. Roundy, M. K. Parks, E. A. Day, John C. Bills, H. C. F. Jensen, George E. Hubbell and George H. French, for the purpose of acquiring and disposing of property and to create debts not to exceed $2,000, and in 1875, druing Rev. Hunting's pastorate, the constitution upon which the church is now acting was adopted. For some time services were held in the Burtis opera house, then in the city hall. In 1870 the society built a church of its own, which was dedicated February 19, 1871. The present building, on the corner of Tenth and Perry streets, was erected in 1897 and in 1905 was remodeled.
FIRST CHURCH OF CHRIST, SCIENTIST
The membrrs of the First Chruch of Christ, Scientist, their church property entirely cleared from debt, dedicated it Sunday, June 29, 1908, formally, with services both in the morning and evening. The service rooms in the church, at the corner of Sixth and Perry streets, were crowded both in the morning and evening, and it was necessary to open the reading rooms to accommodate the members and visitors. On this occasion the following article was read:
The first knowledge of the healing work done through Christian Science was brought to this city by a lady in 1887. Being at one of the hotels she was soon known as a practitioner and many people went to her for help. One, a young girl, was lame, having one limb shorter than the other. She decided to try the treatment and asked a lady friend to go with her. Not believing the healing possible, but willing to help the girl all she could, she went. To her amazement the limb was lengthened and healed. When the girl brought her first pair of shoes, having both alike, this lady was present. Believing it a wonderful cure, this friend determined to know what power caused it. Inquiring of the practitioner she was told Mrs. Mary B. G. Eddy, of Boston, was the discoverer and founder of Christian Science, and "Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures" was the text book to get and study. She sent for a copy but had it in the house six months before reading it. In the meantime other literature had found its way to Davenport. Many people read it, thinking it Christian Science, or something just as good. Some of them were friends of the lady who sent for "Science and Health." Following her advice they gave up this literature and teaching to study "Science and Health." Christian Science now had a start. From this time on meetings were held in private houses for the discussion of Christian Science. Several teachers came and held classes. None of them stayed longer than a few weeks or months. Some read "Science and Health," some did not, but none of them were accredited teachers.
The first to come with authority to teach was a student of Mrs. Eddy. She spent three months in 1889, doing all she could to establish the work in that short time. But no one came to stay until 1891, when two gentlemen moved here to live and with the intention of practicing Christian Science. They opened the way for systematic work and teaching. For the following year meetings were held in a private house. Then room 21, Masonic Temple, was secured and First Church of Chirst, Scientist, of Davenport, was organized May 31, 1892, with sixteen charter members, about half of them from Rock Island, Illinois. The first services were held Sunday mornings and Friday afternoons. The afternoon testimony meetings were soon changed to Wednesday evenings, the same as now. Interest in Christian Science - and attendance at the services - increased steadily until larter quarters were needed. During the summer of 1895 the Sunday services were changed to Columbian hall, near Third and Brady streets. In the fall the people from Rock Island felt they were strong enough to commence the work in that city. So Wednesday evening meetings were begun, although they still attended Sunday services in Davenport.
October 25, 1896, First Church of Christ, Scientist, Rock Island, Illinois, was formed. This step forward took away about half the membership from the Davenport church. Being the result of progress and strength, giving the promise of two churches where there had been only one, all rejoiced when the organization was completed. Later on the Masonic Temple room was given up and all meetings held in Columbian hall. The congregation grew until it was neccessary to find another place. As there was no larger hall in the city it was necessary to buy or build. So this fine location was secured. This change brought greater interest and attendance at the services; more call for literature at the reading room. This has continued until now the church has paid the debt incurred with the purchase of its property and is rejoicing in greater freedom and prosperity, both spiritual and financial than ever before. The obstacles overcome have been many. The usual course has been followed here, beginning with the interest and work of one - then a handful of people to hold meetings - resulting in the organization of the church. Much gratitude should be given those who have worked earnestly and faithfully to accomplish this. They are to be congratulated upon the work.
MOUNT IDA PRESBYTERIAN
In May, 1855, A. C. Fulton gave to the trustees of the First Presbyterian church a lot at the corner of Fulton and College avenues, to be used for church purposes, and there a mission was maintained by the First church until February 6, 1876, when the Renwick Memorial Presbyterian church was organized with twenty charter members, of which Mrs. Amanda Keever is still living. Rev. J. D. Mason, who served as pastor for the first few eeks until succeeded by Rev. W. S. Messmer, headed the list of the incorporators when the church was renamed the College Avenue Presbyterian church. Those associated with Mr. Mason in this incorporation were P. S. Morton, A. M. Miner, Thomas Havens, J. H. Knostman, James H. Weise, G. F. Knostman, J. W. Voodry, and Miss E. Andreas. The first board of elders comprised J. H. Knostman, P. S. Morton, Wm. Walker, and Thomas Havens.
The church building was erected on grounds enlarged by purchase in 1875 and to the original structure additions have been made as the congregation has grown. At this time this church organization faces the problem of providing more room for church services and Sunday school.
June 13, 1882, the church was reorganized as the Second Presbyterian church and a few years since the name was agian changed to the Mt. Ida Presbyterian church.
Rev. W. S. Messmer served as pastor in 1876-1877; Rev. J. W. Coleman, 1877-1878; Rev. Robert Edgar, 1881-1891; Rev. W. H. Kearns, 1891-1894; Rev. W. R. Williams, 1895-1896; Rev. J. H. McArthur, 1897-1898; Rev. D. W. Wylie, 1899-1902; Rev. Mott R. Sawyers from 1902 to the present time.
This church was first known as the First Baptist church, and held its first religious service in the house of John M. Eldridge, which was on Brady street, and later converted into a photograph gallery. Rev. Israel Fisher was the first pator. He left here for Oregon, where he died some years later. The church was organized by Rev. Mr. Fisher with the following charter members: J. M. Eldridge, Mrs. Mary Eldridge, John Swartout, Charles Swartout, Richard Price and wife and David Wilson and wife. Richard Price and David Wilson were the deacons. The congregation fitted up a room on Front street, over a store, as a place of worship, and held services there until they built a brick structure at the corner of Fourth and Brady on a lot donated by Antoine LeClaire to the church. Services were held here until the building became too small and finally they removed to the corner of Sixth and Main, where a pretentious brick structure was erected and later occupied by the high school and now used for a bakery by the Korn Bakery Company.
History records that in October, 1851, sixteen persons who had taken letters from the First Baptist church met in a school house on Perry street, now The Boies' undertaking rooms, for the purpose of organizing what is now the Calvary Baptist church. Among them the familiar names of Davis, Blood and Witherwax appear. They purchased with a dwelling the norhtwest corner of Fourth and Perry and services were held in this place for some time. In 1852 for various reasons this lot was sold and the southwest corner of Fourth was purchased - a lot including the one now occupied by the postoffice and also the one in the rear, now occupied by the Tri-City Electrical Company.
On leaving the dwelling house on the corner of Fourth and Perry the people worshiped in the block, at the corner of Third and Brady, a place known as the Medical college, and at this time they enjoyed the pastoral services of Rev, E. M. Mills, who settled here in 1852 and served them for five years, during which time some seventy were added to the church by baptism. It was during his pastorate that the house of worship at Fourth and Perry was erected, first forty by sixty feet - and then an addition of twenty feet added on the west before the audience room was completed.
Rev. Mills resigned in 1857 and Rev. J. Buytterfield, of Waterloo, New York, was called to succeed him. The building was approaching completion and was formally dedicated in May of that year, with the dedication sermon by Brother Mills, the first pastor. Brother Butterfield addressed himself with great efficiency to the financial burden which had been assumed to complete this house, and during his pastorate over fifty were added by baptism. During this time the first and second churches were united - a step that seemed necessary in order to save one building for the Baptists. In 1864 Rev. D. S. Watson succeeded to the pastorate. During his pastorae the old debt was canceled and the name of Calvary Regular Baptist church was taken. Rev. Watson was popular with all and especially liked by the young people. His great field was in the pulpit and many old and young who had previously given religion little thought came to hear his powerful sermons. Anyone of those present can remember as though it were yesterday a sermon on the Love of Christ. At its close he left the desk, came to one side of the very front of the platform, his tall form erect, and his dark eyes flashed from under darker eyebrows, and repeated Romans viii, 35.
Brother Watson resigned in 1867 and a year intervened before the church welcomed Rev. T. W. Powell, a man whose kindness and sympathetic nature won many hearts. After a pastorate of two years ill health compelled him to resign to be succeeded by Rev. N. S. Burton, D. D., a man sound in doctrine and logical in his sermons. The North Davenport mission was established during his pastorate and many added to the church. He was succeeded by Rev. T. W. Powell, where the labor would be less. Rev. W. H. Stifler, D. D., was his successor, a man full of energy and life, and he served acceptably for over five years.
Rev. Frank L. Wilkins, D. D., was next called to the pastorate, and entered upon his work November 29, 1885. The church up to this time had occupied the stone edifice at the corner of Perry and Fourth streets. The church decided May 6, 1886, to undertake the building of a new house of worship to be located on the "Bluff." A site at the corner of Perry and Fourteenth streets was later purchased, at a cost of $3,400, and here, September 21, 1899, the cornerstone of the new edifice was laid. Special meetings in celebration of the semi-centennial of Baptist history in Davenport were held September 20th, 21st, and 22d; the Davenport association having by arrangement held its annual meeting on the previous two days. The delegates remained as a body to the local celebration. The week's meetings, with the laying of the stone on Saturday, mark the most memorable event in the history of Calvary church - practically the opening of a new era for the Baptist cause in Davenport.
The new edifice was dedicated Sunday, May 25, 1890. The total cost of the building with its furnishings, including the pipe organ ($3,100), was about $33,000.
Dr. Wilkins resigned the pastorate in 1891 to accept the general secretaryship of the Baptist Young Peoples' Union of America. Rev. E. H. Lovett, of Oswego, New York, was called as his successor, remaining six years, years of large ingathering. Three hundred or more were added to the church. At his resignation, without interregnum and without visitation, Rev. J. W. Weddell, D. D., pastor of the "Old Tenth" church of Philadelphia, was called to the pastorate. He responded to the call in a like generous spirit, and assumed spiritual charge in February, 1898, God's blessing being on the union from the first.
Rev. H. O. Rowlands of Lincoln, Neb., succeeded to the pastorate June, 1903. In 1910 a mission was started in the northern part of the city, a lot has been purchased and the erection of a building is contemplated in the near future. Present membership, 508.
This church is made up by the merging of the German and Bethleham Congregational organizations. The German Congregational church was organizrd in 1854 and services were held in a building on Fifth street, just west of Warren, until 1902, when property was bought at Fourth and Pine streets and a handsome church edifice erected thereon. Just north of the church and on the same lot a neat pressed brick parsonage was built. In this church services were held for fifty-six years without intermission, until its union with the Bethlehem church, in October, 1909.
The Mission Sunday school was organized in the late '60s to conduct instruction in English in the west end of Davenport. For a number of years this Sunday school met at the German Congregational church on West Fifth street Sunday afternoons. In 1882 members of the Edwards Congregational church, with a few others who had been helping in the Sunday school, built Bethlehem hall on Warren street just south of Fifth. In 1894 the Bethlehem church was organized as an independent society, and continued at the old location until its union with the German church in October, 1909, to form the Berea church. Under the leadership of the Rev. R. K. Atkinson, pastor of the Bethlehem church, the Berea Congregational church was organized by merging with the Bethlehem as stated above. The church has 220 members and its property, consisting of a modern church building, valued at about $14,000. The Sunday school enrolls 230 members, and all the auxiliary organizations of the church are active and aggressive.
TRINITY GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN
This church was organized January 30, 1870, by the following twelve Christian men; Jacob Stahmer, Paul Stahmer, John C Stahmer, Fritz Meier, John Meier, Franz Peters, Peter Ruehmann, Franz Hagermann, Christian Harsch, Heinrich Oldson, Heinrich Dose, Frederick Loehndorf. At this time there were eighty-three members, and the first pastor was William Vonhof, who served from 1870 until 1871. His successor was E. Gieseke, whose pastorate continued from 1872 until 1875. From 1875 until 1878 Theo Bensen was the pastor. He was followed by J. Streckfuss, who remained until 1882. A. D. Greif was his successor, and filled the pulpit acceptably from March, 1883, to April 10, 1910, at which time it was his purpose to leave for Charter Oak, Iowa. During his pastorate here Mr. Greif had two assistants, Christian W. Otto, from 1886 to 1887, and his son, H. P. Greif, from 1897 until 1900. The church erected a building in 1870 which now used as a school for children of the congregation and in 1883 the present building was erected on Myrtle street near Fifth. The membership now numbers 435, with 200 in the Sunday school.
HOLY CROSS EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN
This church is in East Davenport on Belle avenue. It was organized April 6, 1902, with three members: Otto C. Westphal, the pastor, Charles Poppe, and the present pastor, H. P. Greif. The first services were held in the chapel on Spring street and continued there for about six months. The congregation then removed to a vacant store room on Eddy street, where services were held three months, and the following four months meetings were held in the third story of the Eash Davenport Turner hall. At this time there were about twenty members. For the following six months there were no services, but during that time a new building was in course of erection on Belle avenue, and on April 6, 1902, the congregation occupied the new structure and listened to a dedicatory sermon which was preached by the visiting elder, Rev. A. D. Greif, the father of the present pastor. The building was of frame and with the lot the property cost $2,400. The membership consists of 128 persons, and in the Sunday school there are eighty-five children. The church is absolutely free of debt.
THE GERMAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL
This church was organized February 20, 1858, and its first pastor was Rev. Ulrich Von Gunten. The first services were held in a building on Brady and Fifth streets, which was the old English Methodist Episcopal church. The first trustees were Israel Hall, C. M. Peck, John Hornby, James Bradshaw and William Cook. The present church edifice was soon after built on the corner of Sixth and Warren streets. In the pastorate Rev. Von Gunten was succeeded by the following: J. M. Winkler, 1859-60; Peter Helwig, 1860-61; George Haas, 1861-2; M. Kaumermeyer, 1862-3; J. M. Winkler, 1863-4; Charles Heidel, 1864-5; Charles Haltkamp, 1865-6; Frederick Heinz, 1866-9; Philip Hehmer, 1869-72; Christ Peisch, 1872-73; J. G. Leist, 1873-5; Charles Halerhorst, 1875-6; Gottfreid Bonn, 1876-9; Henry Diener, 1879-80; William Winter, 1880-1; R. J. Tillman, 1881-3; John P. Miller, 1883-6; John C. Rapp, 1886-90; A. H. F. Hertzler, 1890-93; William Schoenig, 1893-8; George Ebzerath, 1898-1902; Charles J. Moeller, 1902-6; John C. Behrens, 1906-8; A. J. Luebbers, 1908. The membership of this church for several years has greatly diminished, owing to the fact that the children of the members prefer attending the English churches. The membership now is only about forty, with fifty in the Sunday school. Just east of the church and on the same lot, is the parsonage, which was built in 1881.
Temple Emanuel church was organized in 1861 and the congregation erected a temple on the corner of Ripley and Fourth, which was dedicated in 1884. The congregation's new church on the corner of Eleventh and Brady was dedicated in 1906. The first rabbi was Isaac Fall. He was succeeded by Rabbi Freuder. Then came Rabbi Maurice Thorner. In 1900 W. H. Fineshriber assumed the pastorate and is the present rabbi. The congregation is made up of seventy-five families of Davenport, Rock Island and Moline. Fifty children attend Sunday school.
The Swedish Lutheran church was organized in 1883, and the same year the church building was eracted and dedicated. It had for its first pastor O. Torrell. In 1888 Prof. O. Oleson came to this charge and remained until 1903, when he was succeeded by A. W. Kjellstrand. The present pastor, O. W. Ferm, has been here since 1906. The church was incorporated by the following gentlemen: Charles Lindwall, John W. Matson, G. Eklund, A. Lindblom, and C. L. Lindholm.
The church started with twenty-five members and now has 150, with sixty-five in the Sunday school. The building is located on East Sixth street and just east of it is the parsonage, built in 1905.
THIRD BAPTISH (COLORED)
This church is made up of the good colored Baptist people of Davenport, and was organized in 1875. The congregation, though weak in number, is strong in fervor and hopes for the future. Its church building is located on West Thirteenth street.
THE AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL
The A. M. E. church was organized in 1875 and it has a membership of about fifty souls. It has its Sunday school, which is prospering. This church is at the corner of Fourth and Gaines streets.
THE FIRST GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHER ZION'S CHURCH
The history of this church begins on the 9th of July, 1862, that being the time of its organization. It had for its first members S. Hiller, G. Crecelius, B. Borgelt, H. Flemming and F. Kurmeier. The church edifice is located at the corner of Eight and Gaines streets, and there is also a chapel belonging to this congregation on Oak and Fifth streets, where services are held every Sunday evening. The present membership numbers 350 and in the Sunday school there are 130. Connected with the church is a Ladies Aid Society with twenty-five members, and also a Young Folks society of twenty-two members. The church is in a very prosperous condition. The following have been pastors of the church: Revs. John Keisel, from 1861 to 1865; Josias Ritter, 1865 to 1868; Wilhelm Vonhof, 1868-1870; C. Reuter, 1870-1871; S. Gass, 1871-1879; B. Foelsch, 1879-1891; C. Ziche, 1891-1897; P. Bunge, 1897-1903; John Hurtzig, 1903-1908; C. Holterman, 1908, who is the present pastor.
The present church edifice was erected in 1866.