From History of Crawford County, Iowa...by F.
W. Meyers. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J.
Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
Patrick D McMAHON, attorney at law and title examiner for the Bank of
Denison, has throughout his entire life ably and conscientiously performed
the duty nearest at hand and thus carved out the path of his own advancement. His life record had its beginning in the town of
County Clare, Ireland on the 25th of March 1863. He is a member of one of
the old families of West Clare, Ireland, there represented for many
centuries. His parents, Denis and Kate (O'DEA) McMAHON, were also natives of
the Emerald Isle, in which country the paternal grandfather had followed
farming. Both he and his wife reached an advanced age. Their family numbered
but two children, Denis and Thomas. The former became a soldier in the
English army. He was reared in County Clare and after his military service
was over became civil bill officer in West Clare. He married Kate O'DEA, a
daughter of Michael O'DEA, and one of a large family, all now deceased. Mrs.
McMAHON passed away when only about thirty years of age, while Denis McMAHON
survived until 1875, reaching the age of forty-eight years. Both were
adherents of the Roman Catholic faith. In their family were five children,
three sons and two daughters: John; Patrick D.; Andrew, deceased; Mary, the
wife of Michael FRAWLEY, of Ennis, Ireland; and Ella, the wife of P.F.
BARRETT, of Dunlap, Iowa.
Patrick D McMAHON was reared on the Emerald Isle and acquired his education
in the Munster Agricultural College at Cork, Ireland, after which he became
a teacher in the national schools of his native country. He was a young man
of about twenty-two years when, in 1885, he came to America, settling first
at Ida Grove, Iowa, where he lived until April, 1886. He then removed to
Crawford county, taking up his abode at Denison, where he entered the employ
of Shaw & Kuehnle in their law, loan and abstract office. In October, 1888,
however, he removed to Charter Oak, Iowa, to take charge of an office for the same firm, and there continued until October, 1905, when he returned to
Denison and accepted a position in the farm loan department of the Bank of
Denison. Devoting his leisure hours to the mastery of the principles of
jurisprudence, he was admitted to the bar in 1893 and has since engaged in
the practice of law, also acting as title examiner for the bank. His
ability, earnest purpose and close application have enabled him to attain
success in his work.
On the 19th of February, 1901, Mr. McMahon was united in marriage to Miss
Marie BARRETT, a daughter of Martin and Ann (HART) BARRETT, of Dunlap, Iowa.
Mrs. McMAHON was born in Monona county, Iowa. Her mother was a native of
Canada and her father of Ireland. Her father was only five years of age when
brought to the new world and was reared to manhood in Clinton County, Iowa.
For many years he followed general agricultural and mercantile pursuits in
Crawford, Monona and Harrison counties, but for over twenty years he and his
wife have resided in Dunlap, Iowa. Their family numbers six sons and two
daughters, William, Michael L., Peter F., Jacob F., deceased, Martin, John,
Helen and Marie. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. McMAHON was Patrick
BARRETT, a native of Ireland, who engaged in merchandising during much of
his business life. Unto him and his wife were born three children, Michael,
Martin and Mary. The maternal grandparents of Mrs. McMAHON were both natives
of Ireland but died in Clinton County, Iowa. Their family included Peter,
John, Edward, Ann, Rose and Mary.
The marriage of Mr and Mrs. McMAHON has been blessed with two children,
Robert Emmett and Jacob Barrett. The parents are also both members of the
Catholic church and Mr. McMAHON belongs also to the Knights of Columbus, the
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the Modern Woodmen camp. His
political allegiance is given to the republican party, which finds him in
him a stalwart and active supporter. While a resident of Charter Oak he
served as mayor of the city, was justice of the peace for seven years and
postmaster for nine years. The duties of those positions he discharged with
promptness and fidelity and it is characteristic of him that no trust
reposed in him has ever been betrayed. He owns a pleasant home in Denison,
which he and his family occupy, and aside from this he is much interested in
real estate, owning over one thousand acres in Iowa and several houses and
lots in Sioux City. His realty holdings return to him a gratifying annual
income and are constantly increasing in value with the rapid settlement of
the districts in which his farms are located and also by reason of the
improvements which he places upon his land. In the practice of law, in the
conduct of banking interests and in his real-estate operations, Mr. McMAHON
has proved himself a capable business man, far-sighted and sagacious, his
enterprise and diligence bringing him gratifying and well merited success.
Biographical and Historical
Record of Greene and Carroll Counties,
Iowa...Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1887.
John O'Connor, section 27, Washington Township, is a native of County Clare,
Ireland, born about the year 1816. He grew to manhood in his native country,
and was there married to Miss Margaret Eyras, a daughter of Lawrence Eyras.
Ten children were born to them, six of whom are still living-Mary, Annie,
Michael, John, Margaret and Eliza. In the Spring of 1864, Mr. O'Connor
immigrated with his family to America, settling in Limestone, New York,
where he worked in a tannery thirteen months and for several years worked at
various occupations. In 1867 he came to Iowa, locating first at LeClaire,
where he spent three months. The same year he went to Dubuque, Iowa, where
he worked as a farm laborer for one year. He was then employed on the Des
Moines & Fort Dodge Railroad for two years, and during this time lived at
Fort Dodge one year and one year at Des Moines. In 1870 he came to Greene
County, Iowa when he located on the farm where he has since made his home.
He was one of the first settlers in his part of the township, there being
but one house between his and Grand Junction. His land was almost entirely
unimproved, and his nearest trading post was Perry, ten and a half miles
distant. He began life in limited circumstances but by hard work, strict
economy and good management, he has met with success in his farming and
stock-raising, and is now the owner of 200 acres of choice land, the entire
surroundings of his place proving him to be a thorough practical farmer.
Biographical and Historical
Record of Greene and Carroll Counties,
Iowa...Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1887.
Henry M Blake, who is numbered among the enterprising and public-spirited
agriculturists of Highland township, is a native of Ireland, his parents
Henry and Margaret (Magner) Blake, also being natives of the Emerald Isle.
He was the fourth in a family of five children, and was born in County
Clare, Ireland, the date of his birth being May 20, 1839. He immigrated to
America in the year 1851, settling near Ottawa. At the age of fifteen years
he commenced working on a farm for his board and clothes, which he followed
till the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion in 1861. He then enlisted
in the defense of the Union, and was assigned to Company A, Eleventh
Wisconsin Infantry, ad re-enlisted as a veteran in Texas. He participated in
the battles of Vicksburg, Champion Hill, Fort Blakely, Magnolia Hill, Big
Black River, Jackson, Mississippi, and others of minor importance. He was
discharged at Mobile Alabama, in 1865, having been in the service four
years. October 24, 1866, he was married to Miss Margaret Murphy, a native of
Canada, born May 10, 1844. The names of the children born to this union in
order of their birth are as follows-Mary E, Annie T., Margaret, James H.,
Sarah B., Elizabeth, Lucy, John S., Alice and George S., ten in all. After
the war, Mr. Blake resumed farming in Wisconsin, remaining in that State
until 1869. In November of that year he came to Greene County, Iowa, when he
settled on his present farm in Highland Township, which is located on
section 35. He has met with success since coming to Greene County, owing to
his industrious habits and good management, and is now the owner of a
well-cultivated farm of 160 acres, and during his residence in Highland
township has gained the confidence and esteem of all who know him. In his
political views he is independent, voting for men, not party. Mr. Blake and
his family are members of the Roman Catholic church.
History of Delaware County,
Iowa...Captain John F. Merry, supervising ed. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub.
D.A. McElligott is the owner of a
valuable tract of two hundred acres located on section 10, Adams township, his
place being known as Donny Brook Farm. He comes of Irish parentage but is a
native of Delaware county, born October 14, 1878, a son of James and Ellen (Behan)
McElligott, who were natives of Ireland, the father born in County Clare and the
mother in Waterford county. In 1855 the father emigrated to America and after
spending three years in Chicago, continued his journey to Delaware county, the
year of his arrival here being 1858. It was in this county that he wedded Miss
Ellen Behan, who makes her home in Ryan, having survived him since August 4,
1904. After coming to Delaware county the father engaged in farming but in his
younger days was a sailor and as a member of the British navy fought in the
Crimean war and won distinction. James McElligott was married twice. His first
union was with Miss Kate Sinnett, a native of Chicago, Illinois, and by this
marriage there is one son, John. By his marriage to Ellen Behan, he had five
sons and two daughters, namely: Patrick F., William T., who is a stock dealer of
Ryan; James, who makes his home in Dubuque, Iowa; D.A. of this review; Timothy
J., pastor of Sacred Heart church at Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Kate, the wife of
Nicholas Weiler, a resident of Ryan; and Mary, who resides with her mother in
D.A. McElligott pursued his early education
in the district schools of the neighborhood and supplemented this by a course of
study in St. Joseph's college in Dubuque. About nine years ago he began farming
on his own account and is today the possessor of two hundred acres, lying three
miles west of Ryan, on section 10, Adams township. A portion of his land is
given over to general farming, but he devotes considerable to pasturage, for he
is extensively engaged in raising Red Polled cattle and high grade horses.
Mr. McElligott was united in marriage to Miss Ella Lyness, a daughter of James
and Catherine Lyness, both natives of Ireland, who emigrated to the United
States in the early '50s, locating in Grant county, Wisconsin. They spent two
decades in that state and then came to Delaware county, where the father is
still living. The mother was called to the home beyond, January 27, 1913. Mr.
and Mrs. McElligott have two daughters and one son, Mary Mildred, Timothy C.,
and Catherine. Mr. McElligott is a successful farmer and stock-raiser and is
regarded as a man of exemplary life by the people of Delaware county, who are
proud to claim him as a fellow citizen.
From the book "The History
of Clinton County Iowa" by L. P. Allen (1879)
DENNIS KEAN, farmer and stock
raiser and dealer, Sec. 32; P. 0. Big Rock, Scott Co.; owns 180 acres of hand
where he lives, valued at $35 per acre, and 710 acres of land in Crawford Co.,
Iowa; son of Murty and Ellen Kean; born in May, 1814, in County Clare, Ireland;
in spring of 1845, emigrated to America, stopping in Lanark, Canada West, now
Ontario; in the spring of 1848, went to Syracuse, N.Y.; engaged on the railroad;
they were then putting down the first T rail that was laid in the United States;
in the fall of 1848, came to Chicago. Ill., and worked on the Galena Division of
the C. & N.-W. R. H.; in the spring of 1849, came to Davenport, Iowa, and
the same year to this county and entered his land, but continued working in
Davenport till 1852, when he moved on his farm. Married Mary Rasp, July 15,
1847; she was born in Canada in 1826; have eleven children living—Michael J.,
Ellen. Hannah, John T., Murty, Maggie, James, Bridget, Mary A., Eliza and
Dennis, Jr.; lost one daughter—Catharine. Has served as Trustee of township
several years. Members of Catholic Church; Independent.
From the book
"The History of Clinton County Iowa" by L. P. Allen (1879)
MICHAEL DEVINE, farmer, Sec.
8; P.O. Toronto; owns 240 acres of land, valued at $35 per acre; born in 1838,
in County Clare, Ireland; in the fall of 1853, came with his parents to Cook
Co., Ill., and the following year moved to LaSalle Co., where his father died in
1854. In 1860, went to Greene Co.,
Ill., and married there Miss Mary Luneene, Oct. 20, 1863; her native place was
Ireland; she died Oct. 22, 1864, leaving an infant daughter, Mary, who is still
living. After the death of his
wife, Mr. D. came to this county and purchased part of his present farm, but
worked in a rolling-mill in Chicago several years.
His mother, Mary Devine, keeps house for him, and his younger brother,
James Devine, aged 27, lives with him and assists in carrying on the farm.
Mr. D. is a member of the Catholic Church; Greenbacker.
1. Margaret1 O'BRIEN, daughter of James
O'BRIEN and Honoria BURKE, was born Killernan townland, County Clare,
Ireland 1834. Margaret died 12 April 1913 in Cascade, Dubuque County,
Iowa, at 78 years of age.
She married Thomas REDDIN in St. Martin's RCC, Cascade, Dubuque County,
Iowa, 11 June 1858. Thomas was born in Ireland 1832. Thomas was the
son of Thomas REDDIN and Margaret REDDIN. Thomas died 13 March 1865 in
Kinston, North Carolina, at 32 years of age. His body was interred 16
March 1865 in Old Cemetery, New Bern, North Carolina, No. 59, plot 12 grave
2126. Dubuque Herald, March 12,1865, Newbern N. C.
Yesterday the enemy fell across the Neusic River , after burning the bridge on
that stream. It is reported They were all destroyed. The Rebel ram
was at the same time guarding the bridge. Lumber is now going
forward to rebuild the bridge. The railroad is completed within a short
distance opposite Kingston. The enemy will not be able to remain in
Kingston long, even if they decided to make another stand of which there is much
doubt. Deserters and refuges continue to come into our lines. The enemy
suffered most, owing to their repeated charges on our works in which they
repulsed each time with sever losses. Our troops stood their ground
manfully, and are in high spirits over the prospects of meeting Sherman
soon. General Sherman has opened communication with Wilmington and
Fayettesville. He sends word that he is alright and is marching on. We
expect to have some gratifying news. Dr. Page of the Sanitaary Committee
has sent a force with supplies to the front for the wounded. He has also
collected a list of killed and wounded which will be sent for publication.
General Schofield spent the Sabbath in Newbern. The weather is warm and
pleasant. (Mar. 16, 1865) This is the battle in which Thomas Reddin was wounded,
guarding the bridge. He was transferred to the Hospitol at New Bern.
Margaret was listed as the head of a family on the 1880 Census in East Cascade,
Dubuque County, Iowa.
DEATH OF MRS. MARGARET
Mrs. Margaret Reddin died at her home in East Cascade, Saturday. She had
been in poor health for several years and failed perceptabley. During the
past winter months. Mrs. Reddin's maiden name was Margaret
O'Brien and she was born in County Clare, Ireland in 1834. She was
therefore in her 79th year. She came to the United States in 1857,
locating in Cascade, Iowa. In June, 1858, she was married to Thomas Reddin.
When the Civil War Broke out, Mr. Reddin enlisted in Company D, Ninth Iowa
Infantry regiment, and was killed at Kingston, North Carolina, March 13,
1865. He left a widow with a family of children, Mrs. Reddin worked hard
and nobely to their support during the years of their dependency as well as
caring for her aged mother. (This was her mother-in-law, Margaret Reddin)
Her devotion during many long years was exemplary and called forth Many
expressions of commendation not only upon the occasion of her death but during
her lifetime. She was a devoted Catholic and always a consistent
communicant and zealous observer of the tennents of her faith. Mrs. Reddin
is survived by her daughters Mrs. Bridget Kelly, Denver, Mary Reddin of Cascade:
Grandsons George Rice of Kadoka, S. D. And Marshal Thomas
Reddin of Cascade. One daughter Catherine Rice died August, 1900.
One sister Mrs. Catherine Dolan (Dowling) of Seamount, Wis. survives her.
The funeral was held Tuesday morning from the residence to St. Martin's Church
where services were held at 9:30. The Pall bearers were: S.T. Kean,
P.L.Devaney, Jacob Loes, B.F. Crawford, William Drummond, and T. J.
Durkin. The family of Mrs. Reddin desire to thank their many friends and
neighbors For kindnesses extended during their berevement.
Margaret O'BRIEN and Thomas REDDIN
had the following children:
+ 2 i. Catherine2 REDDIN was born 19 July 1859.
3 ii. Bridget (Delia) REDDIN was born in
Cascade, Jones County, Iowa 12 Feb 1861. Bridget died 18 Jan 1945 in
Denver City, Denver County, Colorado, at 83 years of age. Her body was
interred 22 January 1945 in Mt. Olivet Cemetery, Denver, Colorado. She
married William KELLY. William was born in Missouri 1864. William
was the son of Timothy KELLY and Margaret. William died 9 September 1933
in Denver City, Denver County, Colorado, at 69 years of age. His body was
interred 12 September 1933 in Mt. Olivet Cemetery, Denver, Colorado.
. She spent her younger years in Cascade and from information taken from
post cards, spent time in Nebraska. She had asthma and probably went to
Nebraska and later to Colorado for health reasons. Her husband, William Kelly
had two sister living in Nebraska at the time of his death. Delia and Will
may have met during a time of these visits. There were Reddins living in Denver
but I haven't been able to make the connection. .Delia Reddin and William Kelly
were married in Denver, Colorado, November 20, 1886. Delia was then
Twenty-five years of age. They owned a home at Five Points but round 1810
they moved to an apartment. Her husband Willian Kelly was a State Food
Inspector, Bailiff of West Side Criminal Court , Adjuster,and was the Court
Bailiff when he died suddenly of a heart attack.Delia made several trips back to
Iowa . When her mother Margaret died she stayed at the hotel in Cascade as
she said she needed the steam heat. At times she
was very lonely living away from her family. She wrote either a card or letter
to her Mother and sister Mary saying how she missed them , especially at the
holidays. She and her husband traveled to many places around the
state and would mail a card to Cascade to her family. Her letters were
destroyed. My husband said that his father Thomas Reddin had a large trunk
that was full of letters and belongings . The farm was sold when my
husband found other work. Before his mother moved to Cascade, she
went through the trunk and burnt most of its contents. I just don't know
why she did it, probably didn't realize the value. The only thing
that was salvaged were a few pictures and post cards sent every week. From
these cards I found that Thomas Reddin and George Rice visited Delia and
Will. Delia and William Kelly never had children.
Bridget (Delia) Reddin Kelly died at Denver, Colorado January 18, 1945. William
Kelly died September 9, 1933 at Denver Colorado.
Their address at the time of William's death was 330 East, 19th Street, Apt.
#25. The had resided there for 45 years. They are buried in Mt.
Olivet Cemetery, Denver, Colorado.
After Anna (Mrs. Thomas Reddin) died we found an address book with the Kelly's
address. We know after looking through the post cards where she was
but couldn't understand why she never kept in touch with Tom and Anna.
Must have been some friction when Margaret died and her estate was
Delia was in the St. Anthony's hospital in 1909 and Mary Reddin visited
her at that time.
+ 4 iii. Mary Ellen REDDIN was born 14 April 1863.
5 iv. Thomas REDDIN was born in Cascade, Jones
County, Iowa 5 May 1865. Thomas died 1865 in Cascade, Dubuque County,
Iowa, at less than one year of age. He was baptized in St. Martin's RCC,
Cascade, Dubuque County, Iowa, 17 May 1865. Religion: religion unknown.
Sponsors for ths baptism were Thomas Dowling and his wife Catherine O'Brien
4762 Abbott Road
Orchard Park, NY 14127-4302
History of Johnson County,
Iowa...from 1836 to 1882; Iowa City, Iowa: 1883
Dennis Hogan, a farmer
residing in Clear Creek twp. Was born, May 4, 1820 in County Clare,
Ireland. He came to America in 1847, landed in St. Johns, New Brunswick, and
thence to Boston, Mass., and finally settled in Johnson county, Iowa, in 1853.
He moved out on a farm in 1861, where he has resided since. He was
married in Apr 1854, to Miss Sarah J. Shelleday; she died of cholera in
Aug , 1855, also her father and mother died of the same disease in Iowa City,
the same month and year. He married Mary Boylen in Feb, 1856, and she died in
Aug, 1866. By this union they had six children: Dennis, Thomas, Katie, Maggie,
John and William. He was married in June , 1867 to Miss Anna Clark, of
Iowa City; and by this union they have four children: James, Albert, Anna and
Richard. The family are members of the St. Patrick's Church of Iowa City. He is
a greenbacker; was formerly a democrat; he has held the office of township
trustee of Clear Creek twp for several terms.
History of Johnson County,
Iowa...from 1836 to 1882; Iowa City, Iowa: 1883
M.A. O’Hair, a resident of
Iowa City, engaged in the practice of law; was born May 14, 1844, County Clare,
Ireland. Came to America and landed in New York City July 4, 1840. Settled in
Iowa in 1866. He attended the State University of Iowa, law department six
months, and was admitted to practice law at Muscatine Iowa, June 6, 1878, and
began the practice of law in Iowa City that year, in partnership, with
W.F. Conklin. He was married Feb 19, 1873, to Miss Mary Beatty of Hillsdale,
Ill. They have one child named Grace. He is a member of Social Lodge No 231,
A.F.A.M. Millersburg, Iowa County, Iowa. He is a democrat in politics.
The Pioneer History of
Pocahontas County, Iowa...by Robert E. Flickinger. Fonda: G. Sanborn, 1904.
(b. 1832; d. 1898), founder of the Crahan Place on sw 1/2 sec. 8, Lizard
township, was a native of Clare county, Ireland, and was left an orphan at nine.
Going to the Lowlands of Scotland at fifteen he found employment as a ditcher,
and during the next six years earned his passage money to America. At 21 he came
to Elmira, N.Y. and engaged in railroad construction. In 1854 he married
Margaret McMahon, and soon afterward located at Winona, Wis., and then in Iowa
along the Illinois Central R.R., successively at Julian, Manchester, Elk Run,
Iowa Falls and in the spring of 1869 in Lizard township. Here he secured the
homestead right of J.J. Bruce and began to farm. He returned to the railroad,
however, when he suffered the loss of crops by the grasshoppers and other
causes. Although he worked on the railroad more than twenty-five years he proved
an aggressive and very successful farmer. As the years passed he added 460 acres
to the homestead making 620 acres in the Crahan Place, which he made a beautiful
His wife in whose honor the Rolfe Catholic church was named "St.
Margaret," died in 1895. He died at 66 in 1898. His family consisted of
eleven children of whom seven are living.
Mary in 1894, married Michael Fitzgerald, located on sec. 1, and died in 1895.
Thomas is the owner of a farm of 120 acres on sec. 18. In 1891 he married Maggie
John in 1897, married Sadie Tierney and occupies a farm of 120 acres on secs. 6
Nellie, in 1897, married Patrick Connors, and lives on a farm near Barnum.
Katie, in 1896 married Wm. Tierney, and lives at Rolfe.
Bridget and William are at home.
Patrick died at 20 in 1896, and Maggie at 17, in 1899.
History of Pottawattamie
County, Iowa 1882... Chicago: O. L. Baskin & Co., 1883
Mike Kane, farmer, P.O. Avoca,
born in Cook County, Ill., September 20, 1853, son of John and Katharina (Cody)
Kane, both natives of County Clare, Ireland; he, born June 14, 1814, and is
still living in Pleasant Township; she, born in June, 1814, and died in James
Township, this county. They were the parents of eight children of whom four sons
and one daughter are still living. Our subject received his schooling in Cook
County, Ill., near Chicago, and has been engaged in farming all his life. He
came to this State in 1865, and lived in Scott, Cedar and Clinton Counties,
coming to this county in 1873, and lived in James Township for four years. In
1882, he purchased 160 acres of partly improved land at $20 per acre. He erected
a large house, and has otherwise improved the place. He engages in general
farming. He was married, November 27, 1879, in Avoca, to Delia Gross, born in
LeClaire, Scott County, this State, in December, 1854, daughter of Dominick and
Mary A. (Ledolph) Gross, natives of Alsace, Germany; he, born in 1822; she, in
1824. Mr. and Mrs. Kane have one child, John Edward, born January 15, 1882. In
religion our subject is a Catholic, and in politics is a Democrat.
History of Counties of Woodbury and Plymouth,
Iowa; Will L. Clark, et al.; Chicago: A. Warner & Co., 1890-91
Michael J. Dillon, hotel
proprietor, Sioux City, was born in county Clare, Ireland, May 17, 1852, where
his father, Martin, prior to his coming to America, was engaged in farming. They
immigrated to America in the spring of 1853, settling on a farm near Dayton,
Ohio, in which city the education of our subject was conducted. In the spring of
1870 he came west, settling at Sioux City. The first three years of his
residence here he was engaged in several pursuits, but principally in
railroading and steamboating on the Missouri river. In the fall of 1873 he
abandoned railroading, with a view to farming and took up a homestead in Canton
county, Dak., where he remained one season, then sold his right, and again
returned to Sioux City.
In 1881 he bought out the Central house, and conducted the hotel for four years.
Wishing to improve his location, he sold out, and bought the Planter house
property, of which place he is still manager. In June, 1873, Mr. Dillon married
Miss Anne C. McKenny. To this union have been born five children, namely Mamie,
Joseph, Michael, Annie and Robert. Mr. Dillon and family are members of the
Roman Catholic church and in political views he sides with the democratic party.
History of Davenport and Scott County Vol. II
by Harry E. Downer-S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. 1910 Chicago
William M. Lillis, who throughout
the period of his connection with business affairs of Davenport has been a
representative of commercial interests, is now secretary of the Halligan Coffee
Company, an enterprise of large and growing proportions which owes its success
in no small degree to the business discernment, energy and acumen of Mr. Lillis.
William M. Lillis is one of Davenport's native sons. His father, John Lillis,
was born in county Clare, Ireland, June 10, 1834, and in 1845 came to America
with his father, Martin Lillis, who in that year emigrated with his family to
Canada. There he remained for several years, during which period John Lillis was
a pupil in the Canadian schools. In 1850 the family home was established in
Scott county, Martin Lillis settling on a farm at Long Grove upon the
Wapsipinicon river. He became not only a diligent and industrious farmer but
also a highly respected citizen. He was a man of strong character, who
fearlessly advocated whatever he believed to be right, while in his business
affairs his activity was such that he contributed to general prosperity as well
as to individual success. He died in 1888.
His son, John Lillis, determined to follow merchandising and established a
grocery and dry-goods store in Davenport. As the years passed he won prosperity,
carefully directing his business affairs and closely studying the needs of his
patrons. He was a man of unswerving honesty, whose success was never won at the
cost of another's advancement and wherever known he was esteemed and respected.
In politics an ardent democrat, he was one of the small but enthusiastic band
that kept the party alive during the troublous period of the Civil war. He was
in fact recognized as one of the leaders of the democracy in Davenport and was
called to several local offices, serving as city clerk for two terms and also as
alderman. He was a devoted churchman yet was not aggressive in his religious
views, according to others the right of personal opinion which he reserved for
himself. He died in January, 1896. His wife, who in her maidenhood was Bridget
P. Grace, was a native of Kilkenny, Ireland, and in her girlhood days came to
the United States with her parents. Her mother died in Buffalo, New York, while
the family were en route to their destination in the middle west. Her father,
James Grace, settled in Rock Island, Illinois, and his daughter Bridget was
reared in the Mississippi valley. She became a devoted wife and mother and
spared no effort in preparing her children for places of usefulness in society.
She died in 1892. Unto Mr. and Mrs. John Lillis there were born four children,
William M., being the eldest and the only son. His three sisters are: Mary, who
is now the wife of Thomas F. Halligan; Genevieve, the wife of Joseph F. Volz;
and Mattie, the wife of M. J. Kinnally.
William M. Lillis acquired his early education in private and parochial schools
and afterward attended the Davenport high school. Early environment naturally
turned his attention to a mercantile career and after putting aside his
text-books he joined his father in business, since which time he has been a
representative of commercial interests in this city. In 1887 he became his
father's successor and carried on the business until 1889, when he joined the
Halligan Coffee Company and has since been its secretary. The business has
enjoyed a steady and substantial growth and is today one of the important
mercantile enterprises of the city. The business methods employed are such as
will bear the closest investigation and scrutiny an the energy and enterprise of
Mr. Lillis and the other officers of the company constitute the attributes of
the success of the house.
In June, 1889, occurred the marriage of William M. Lillis and Miss Bridget
O'Donnell, of Bloomington, Illinois, and of Irish parentage. Their three
children are John Hugh, Irene Grace and Carmel. While a citizen of notable
patriotism and loyal to every project which he deems of public benefit, Mr.
Lillis is not a politician nor has he any desire for office, preferring to
devote his time and energies to his business affairs. He cooperates in
progressive public movements, however, as a member of the Commercial Club, is a
member of the Davenport Academy of Sciences and belongs also to the Knights of
Columbus. Honored and respected by all, there is no man who occupies a more
enviable position in commercial circles nor more justly merits the regard and
esteem which are uniformly accorded him.
History of Counties of Woodbury and Plymouth,
Iowa; Will L. Clark, et al.; Chicago: A. Warner & Co., 1890-91
John C. Hickey, brick
manufacturer, Le Mars, was born in county Clare, Ireland, in 1850. In 1863 he
came to America with his parents and located at Taunton, Mass., where they
remained until 1875, when they came to Le Mars. John C. Hickey bought property,
and engaged in the manufacture of brick, having the only plant of the kind here,
and which has a capacity of 25,000 daily. He has made a brick for nearly every
block in Le Mars, and finds a ready sale in this locality for all his output.
Both he and his wife are members of the Roman Catholic church.
History of Crawford County, Iowa...by F. W.
Meyers. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
A self-made man
who started upon his business career without a dollar and has won his way to
fortune, James P. Jones, of Denison, is justly held in high regard by all who
know him. He was born in Clinton county, Iowa, May 15, 1860, a son of John and
Honora (Carlon) Jones, both of whom were natives of County Clare, Ireland, when
they were married. The father was reared a farmer and learned the stone-mason's
trade in Ireland. He came to America early in the '50s and after stopping for a
while in New York state took up his residence in La Salle county, Illinois,
working at stone-masonry and housebuilding. He was employed on the first bridge
built across the Mississippi river at Davenport and lived on the island and in
Rock Island. He subsequently bought a farm in Clinton county, which he
cultivated to good advantage. He died in the northern part of Iowa in 1891, at
the age of eighty years. Mrs. Jones, who was born at Mount Shannon, Ireland, in
1823, came to Crawford county in 1879 after her husband's death and lived on a
farm in Washington township with her children. She died Sunday, January 8, 1905,
at the age of eighty-two years, and was in many respects a remarkable woman. She
and her husband were earnest members of the Catholic church.
The paternal grandfather of our subject, Rogers Jones,
was a farmer and spent his entire life in Ireland. Among his children were
William, Rogers, James, John, Maria and others. The maternal grandfather was
also a farmer of Ireland. Of his children Honora, Julia and Kate came to
America. Honora is the mother of our subject and Julia, now deceased, formerly
lived in Denison. Patrick, one of his sons, died in Ireland. There were ten
children in the family of John and Honora Jones, three of whom are now living,
namely: Julia, a resident of Denison; James P., the subject of this review; and
John H., also of Denison.
James P. Jones was reared on the old homestead in
Clinton county and received his early education in the district schools. He was
graduated from the Davenport Business College and subsequently came to Denison
and started in the live-stock and real-estate business, with which he has ever
since been connected. Being a man of energy and good judgment, he has been
highly successful in his affairs. He is the owner of six hundred and forty acres
in Crawford county and about three sections of land in Sanborn, Spink, Faulk and
Porter counties, South Dakota. On coming to Crawford county, he gathered corn at
fifty cents a day and chopped wood for seventy-five cents a cord, working
industriously at any honorable employment that he could find. By undaunted
perseverance he overcame every obstacle and is now financially
On the 18th of June, 1892, Mr. Jones was united in
marriage to Miss Isabel C. Blakely, a daughter of David D. Blakely. She was born
in New York, her parents being natives of Ireland. Her father came from County
Antrim, near Belfast, and her mother from County Galway. They were early
settlers of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, her father being identified with a packing house
in that city, where he and his wife are still living. They were the parents of
ten children, six of whom survive, namely: Kate, David, John, Isabel C.,
Elizabeth and Grace. Mrs. Jones grew to womanhood in Cedar Rapids and received a
fine education, being a graduate of a convent and the Conservatory of Music at
Cedar Rapids. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Jones: David B., who died
in infancy; William B.; and James D.
Mr. Jones and his estimable wife were reared in the
Catholic faith and are sincere followers of the church. They have resided in
Denison many years, and their pleasant home is a favorite gathering place for
friends who are always assured of a cordial greeting. Mr. Jones gives his
support politically to the republican party. He has served in various township
offices but has never aspired to larger political honors as his interest has
been concentrated upon his family and his business.
J.H. Jones, of
Denison, was born in Clinton county, Iowa, June 30, 1862, his parents being John
and Honora (Carlon) Jones, both natives of County Clare, Ireland. The father was
reared on a farm and after reaching manhood followed the stone-mason's trade,
working for a short time in England. On coming to America in the latter part of
the '40s he lived for a short time in Havana, New York, where he was engaged in
building railroads and canals, and from there removed with his family to La
Salle, Illinois, there securing a contract for the stone work of the Illinois
Central Railroad bridge crossing the Illinois river at that place. His work on
this bridge still exists. After living for a few years at LaSalle the family
removed to Rock Island, where he followed his trade of stone-mason and in the
latter part of the '50s took up his residence in Clinton county, Iowa. He
located on a farm a few miles south of Wheatland, where the subject of this
sketch was born. The father died in 1891, when over eighty-three years. They
were both members of the Catholic church. The paternal grandparents of our
subject were Roady and Mary (Gavin) Jones, in whose family were eight children
as follows: John, James, Roady, Margaret, Johanna, Kate and Mary Ann, all of
whom lived to a ripe old age. The grandparents on the maternal side were Patrick
and Julia (Dooley) Carlon. They had nine children. James died at an early age,
while Margaret, Jane, Honora, Julia, Bridget, Kate, Ann and Patrick have lived
to advanced ages. Unto John and Honora (Carlon) Jones ten children were born,
five of whom reached maturity, namely: Julia, J.P., and J.H., now living in
Denison; William, who died April 5, 1872; and Mrs. Mary Ann (Jones) Connor, who
died February 15, 1896. She had six children, those now living being Maud, May,
Clara and Marie.
J.H. Jones grew to manhood under the parental roof and
received his education in the district schools of Clinton county. On the 4th of
March, 1879, the family removed to Crawford county, settling on a farm southwest
of Denison. After reaching manhood he, together with his brother, J.P.,
purchased a farm, which they operated for several years, but he finally sold his
interest to his brother and bought a place elsewhere, cultivating it until 1893,
when he took up his abode in Denison. Since then he has operated chiefly in real
estate, contracting, building and architectural work, assisting materially in
the growth of the city. He is recognized as a public-spirited and progressive
citizen, ever willing to give his support to any enterprise that he believes
will advance the public welfare.
On the 20th of May, 1908, Mr. Jones was married to Miss
Bertha McAndrews, a native of Crawford county, who received her early education
in the public schools at Vail, but was graduated from the parochial school at
that place in 1893 and later entered college at Denison in order to fit herself
for a teacher. She successfully followed that profession in the schools of Iowa
and South Dakota for a number of years. She is a daughter of James and Lizzie (Molseed)
McAndrews. Her father was born in Indiana but removed to Clinton county in
September, 1865. They settled on a farm in West Side township, when their
nearest neighbor on the east was eighty miles away. They were, therefore,
pioneers of this county. Mrs. McAndrews was born in Clinton county and with her
parents came to Crawford county in June, 1873. She was married to James
McAndrews, December 25, 1876,and to them six daughters were born, namely:
Bertha, Emily, Lillie, Clara, Jennie and Pearl.
Mr. Jones has been successful in his business affairs
and by his genial manner and kindly disposition has made many friends in Denison
and Crawford county. He and his wife are sincere believers in the Christian
religion and are members of the Catholic church. He is identified with the
Knights of Columbus and the Woodmen of the World. Politically ever since
arriving at manhood he has given his adherence to the democratic party but is
very liberal in his views and although he has never sought public office he
served as a member of he city council of Denison from 1904 to 1908.
History of Crawford County,
Iowa.by F. W. Meyers. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J.
Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
attain success in life it is not necessary to possess either money or influence,
as is evidenced by the career of Michael L. Houlihan, Sr., who, beginning with
nothing, has acquired an independent competence which he is now enjoying after
many years of industry. Born in County Clare, Ireland, in August, 1840, he is
the son of Patrick and Bridget (Hoogan) Houlihan, both of whom were also natives
of County Clare, where they died, the mother at the advanced age of ninety
years. They were the parents of nine children of whom four survive, as follows:
Mary, who is at home; Michael L., Nora, who lives in Ireland; and Cornelius,
retired, who resides in Kansas City, Missouri. Those deceased are John, Patrick,
Bridget, Austin and Thomas.
Through force of circumstances Michael L. Houlihan was
not enabled to obtain any book education, but the knowledge he has secured in
the school of experience has served every purpose as far as hi mental
qualifications are concerned. Thrown upon his own resources at the early age of
nine years, he began as a life as a stock-herder, combined with other kinds of
labor. At the age of twenty-seven he emigrated to the United States, arriving
here in 1865 and locating in Davenport but only remained there two weeks and
then went to Waukon, Iowa, whence he made a trip on the Mississippi river. Later
he engaged in railroad work and coal mining, after which he took up farming near
Grinnell and there spent two and one-half years. He married Miss Mattie Kraemer,
by whom he had one child, John Patrick, who cost the mother her life, and the
child died at the age of three months.
Mr. Houlihan rented his father-in-law's farm, upon
which he remained for four years, and then came to Crawford county, living in
Hayes township for one year. He subsequently located in East Boyer, continuing
his residence there for nineteen years, after which he removed to Soldier
township, and lived there for twenty years. In 1907 he came to Denison township,
where he purchased land, to which, as his circumstances would permit, he added
at intervals until he became the owner of eleven hundred and thirty-nine acres,
which he has developed to a high state of cultivation, giving to it the benefit
of his wide experience in agriculture, acquired in former years, and today he
has one of the most valuable pieces of property in Crawford county, upon which
he has made three sets of improvements that go to make it one of the most modern
and up-to-date farms in this section of the state. Here he has continued to
carry on general farming and stock-raising on an extensive scale, and that he
has met with success is attested to by the flourishing condition of his estate
The second wife of Mr. Houlihan was Mrs. Michael
O'Brien, whose maiden name was Bridget McMahon and who by her first husband had
two children: Mary, deceased, and Dennis, now living in Denison township. To Mr.
and Mrs. Houlihan have been born the following children: John and Martin, who
reside in Denison township; Cornelius, who gives his time to assisting his
father on the home farm; Thomas, a physician, who is practicing in Ida Grove,
Iowa; Michael, who is cashier and manager of the bank in Vail, Iowa; Ellen, who
became the wife of Edward Houston, of Boyer township; Bridget, Bryan, Frances,
Margaret, who are living at home; Marjory , Nora Francis and two others, who are
In politics Mr. Houlihan casts his ballot for the
democratic party but is liberal enough to vote for a friend if he thinks he is
deserving of the support. He has never sought political favors but has most
efficiently filled the offices of township trustee, supervisor and school
director. In every respect Mr. Houlihan is a self-made man, one who has relied
upon his own ability to make a place for himself in the world and is a most
encouraging example to the younger generation of what well directed industry and
determination will do for him who makes up his mind to succeed in life.
The History of Marshall County,
Western Hist. Co., 1878
farmer and stock raiser; Sec. 21; P.O. Dillon; owns 230 acres of land, valued at
$40 per acre; born July 4, 1832 in Co. Clare, Ireland; came to the U.S. in 1851;
and settled in Baltimore, Co., Maryland; followed gardening and raising
vegetables for the city market; came from there to this county in 1876; settled
on his present farm. Married Johanna Hayes June 29, 1856 in Maryland; she was
born Feb. 6, 1838, in Co. Cork, Ireland; have 9 children living-James P., John
H., Mary C., Michael, George, Ada, Ella, Frank and Leo; lost four-Daniel, Leon,
William S., and Edward J.; is a member of the Catholic church; Democrat.
From History of Crawford County, Iowa...by F.
W. Meyers. 2 vols. Chicago: S.J.Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
Some men are
adapted by nature and inclination for public life and are happiest when carrying
the gravest responsibilities. What to others would be a burden to them is a
pleasure. Much of the important municipal and state business is carried forward
by this class of men and to the number belongs John T. Carey, who is now serving
as county supervisor of Crawford county and one of its most esteemed citizens.
He was born in Cedar county, Iowa, June 18, 1863, a son
of John and Margaret (Mead) Carey, natives of County Clare, Ireland. The parents
were reared and married in Ireland, coming to America about 1848. The father
engaged for a time in railroad work in New York but about 1855, deciding that
conditions for advancement were more favorable in the west, he came to Cedar
county, where he lived for twenty-six years. In 188? he purchased a farm in
Milford township, Crawford county, and took up his home there, continuing on
this place before his death, which occurred in 1889 at the age of sixty-five
years, his beloved wife passing away the following March in the sixty-sixth year
of her age. They were both consistent members of the Catholic church and made
many friends by their upright lives and genial dispositions. There were twelve
children in their family, eight of whom grew to maturity: Mary, who is now
deceased; Patrick, a resident of South Omaha, Nebraska; Michael, also deceased;
Ella, the wife of Joseph Grose, of Wisner, Nebraska; Bridget, now Mrs. Michael
Leahy, of Harrington, Nebraska; John T., the subject of this review; Margaret,
the wife of Mark Keane, of Norfolk, Nebraska; and Anna, who died at the age of
John T. Carey was reared upon a farm in Cedar county
and gained his preliminary education in the district schools, later taking
advantage of a thorough business course at the Omaha Commercial College. After
leaving school he took up his residence at Denison in 1881 and was appointed
deputy county treasurer, an office which he filled for six years, evincing a
capacity that gave brilliant promise as to his future. After leaving this
position he became county auditor, continuing for six years, and then was
elected city treasurer of Denison. He engaged in the real estate business for
two years but again became actively identified with politics and served for six
years as mayor of the city. In 1901 he was a candidate for state treasurer but
was defeated. He has filled the office of township clerk and in 1907 was elected
county supervisor, to which position he has since been reelected and is the
On the 1st of July, 1800, Mr. Carey was united in
marriage to Miss Marietta Greek, who was born November 13, 1856, and is now the
oldest living lady whose birth occurred in Crawford county. Here she has spent
her entire life and by her marriage has become the mother of three children,
namely, John Gail, Lucina Margaret and William, deceased. Sylvanus B. Greek, the
father of Mrs. Carey, was born in Cattaraugus county, New York, December 25,
1826, and was a son of Nathan Greek, a Scotch sailor who was lost at sea. In
early manhood Sylvanus B. Greek was married, in Whiteside county, Illinois, to
Miss Lucina Goodrich, whose birth occurred in Cortland county, New York,
September 25, 1836. In September, 1855, they came to Crawford county and settled
in Milford township, being among the first residents of that locality. In their
family were five children, namely, Cyrus, Seba, Marietta, William and Sylvan.
Mr. Carey gives his adherence to the democratic party
and for many years has been a staunch supporter of its principles. Religiously
he is identified with the Catholic church and fraternally he is a valued member
of the Knights of Pythias, the Improved Order of Red Men, the Modern Woodmen of
America and the Woodmen of the World. His wife is a prominent member of the
Woman's Relief Corps of the Grand Army of the Republic and in religious faith is
a Methodist. They are both widely and favorably known and have a host of friends
throughout Crawford county. Mr. Carey is a man of pleasing manners and genial
disposition and to these traits may be largely attributed his success in public
life. The important offices he has occupied attest his popularity and also gives
evidence that he has a large acquaintance and a host of friends. By efficiency
as an officer and fidelity to the best interests of the people he has fairly
merited the esteem in which he is held.
The History of Marshall County, Iowa.
Chicago: Western Hist. Co., 1878
farmer; Sec. 35; P.O. Marshalltown; born in Clare County, Ireland, October 28,
1813; came to America in 1849 and in 1856 came to this county; has always been
engaged in farming; married Miss Bridget Flanagan July 27, 1836; 12 children
living- Michael, John, James, Bridget, Peter, Thomas, Maggie, William, Mary,
Sarah, Ellen, Ida. Mrs. Carmody died March 1, 1865. Mr. Carmody and family are
members of the Roman Catholic Church; has always been a democrat. Owns 80 acres
of land, valued at $2,500.
History of Tama County, Iowa;
Springfield, Ill.: Union Pub. Co., 1883.
settler of 1857 was Michael Casey, who came here from Vermont, and settled on
section 29, where he lived seven years and then moved to section 13, where he
now resides. He is one of the largest land owners in the county. Michael was
born in county Clare, Ireland, in 1819. His early life was spent in tilling the
soil of his native country. In 1840 he was married to Miss Margaret Buckley, who
bore him two children- James and Mary. In 1845 they emigrated to America. After
remaining in Quebec (their landing place) three weeks, they crossed over the the
States and settled in Boston, Massachusetts, where, a few months later, his wife
died. During 1849 he removed to Vermont, where he was employed on the Burlington
& Rutland railroad. While there, Mr. Casey was married, in 1850, to Miss
Loraine Madison, of Windsor county, that State. Four children have been born to
them- George (who was born in Vermont), Oscar, Henry and Alma, born in Iowa. In
1851, Mr. Casey went south, where he spent five years and five months and then
returned to Vermont. In 1857 he came to Tama county, Iowa and settled on section
29, Geneseo township, where he had purchased 80 acres of land. He lived there
until 1864, when he sold the farm, removed to section 13, where he bought land
and erected the frame house in which he now lives. At the presetn time he has a
large barn and other buildings for stock and grain on his farm, and is now
making preparations to erect a new residence during the summer of 1883. Formerly
Mr. Casey devoted his many acres to the cultivation of grain, extensively,
raising 7,000 bushels per year, but of late years he has turned his attention to
stock raising. His farm now consists of nearly 1300 acres. His eldest daughter,
Mary, died in Black Hawk county, Iowa, April 23, 1882, leaving a husband and
eight children to mourn her death.
Historical and Biographical
Record of Black Hawk County, Iowa. Chicago: Inter-State Pub. Co., 1886.
Jeremiah Ryan, an active farmer and
stock-raiser of East Waterloo Township, was born in County Clare, Ireland, in
August 1836. He remained in his native country till attaining the age of
fourteen years, when his parents, John and Mary Ryan immigrated to America. They
remained several years in New York City, and there our subject attended the city
schools. His parents then removed to Winnebago County, Illinois, where they
resided till their death. Jeremiah Ryan commenced life for himself, working by
the month for farmers in Illinois. He was married in 1857 to Miss Sarah Pelley,
of Winnebago County, and to this union were born the following children: -
William H., Edmond, George F., Elmer J., Lucius E., Walter, May I., Annie and
Maggie. After his marriage Mr. Ryan rented a farm in Winnebago County and by his
untiring industry he was soon enabled to purchase eighty acres. He remained in
Winnebago County till the fall of 1867, when he removed with his family to Black
Hawk County, Iowa. He at once settled on the farm on section 8, East Waterloo
Township, where he has since made his home. His land when he first settled here
was all ray prairie. At present he has 320 acres, most of which is under
cultivation, and he is actively engaged in raising grain and stock, his cattle
being of a high grade. His substantial residence was built by him, and his barns
and other buildings are in good order. Mr. Ryan has met with much success in his
agricultural pursuits, which is due to his industrious habits and good business
management. Both Mr. and Mrs. Ryan are members of St. Joseph Church at Waterloo.
and Biographical Record of Dubuque, Jones and Clayton Counties
Chicago: Chapman Pub. Co., 1894
MICHAEL NEYLAN. Not a
little of the success and prosperity gained by Iowa is due to her citizens who
are of Irish birth or descent, and who, combining the qualities of cheerful
perseverance and industry characteristic of their race, with the pluck and
determination possessed by Americans, have succeeded in advancing their personal
welfare and enhancing
the material progress of the state. Of this class is Mr. Neylan, a resident
farmer of Clayton County, and the owner and occupant of a well improved
farm in Boardman Township.
In County Clare, Ireland, the subject of this sketch
was born in 1820, being a member of the family of Francis and Jane (Cusick)
Neylan, both of whom were born in the same county as our subject, and there
remained until death. Michael grew to manhood amid the scenes of his native
country, and while his educational advantages were very limited, he managed to
acquire a valuable fund of information as a result of habits of close
observation formed in boyhood. About the time of the Mexican War he crossed the
ocean, seeking a home in our country, and here he has since remained. His home
has been in Iowa for forty years or more, but he has also traveled extensively
and visited almost every part of the United States.
For a time after coming to Iowa, Mr. Neylan was employed on a railroad, and also
followed other lines of work. Finally he settled down to the quiet life of a
farmer, and to this occupation he has since devoted his entire attention. His
first purchase consisted of forty acres in Highland Township, Clayton County, to
the cultivation of which he devoted himself
assiduously. So successful was he in his enterprises that he was soon enabled to
add forty acres to his landed possessions, and afterward twenty acres, and at
the present time he is the owner of one hundred and sixty acres.
The lady to whose counsel and
active assistance Mr. Neylan owes not a little of his success bore the maiden
name of Mary Glynn, and was born in County Clare, Ireland. Their union has
resulted in the birth of four children, of whom three are now living, as
follows: Ellen, who is married and has five children; John, also married, and
who is the father of
seven children, and Jane, who resides with her parents. Mr. Neylan has always
been very industrious and persevering, but in his undertakings he was long beset
by poverty, and in securing his land he had much to contend with. However, he
had the pluck necessary to secure success, and by undaunted energy gradually
worked his way upward to a position of prominence in his community. All that he
is, and all that he has, may be attributed to his indefatigable exertions, and
he is one of the type of men usually termed self-made. He has never taken an
active part in political affairs, but favors the policy of the Democratic party,
which he supports in national elections. In local matters, he advocates men
rather than party
and gives his influence to the candidates whom he believes will best advance the
interests of the township and county.
~Submitted by Becky Teubner
and Biographical Record of Dubuque, Jones and Clayton Counties
Chicago: Chapman Pub. Co., 1894
AUSTIN THYNE, a prominent farmer of Sperry
Township, Clayton County, Iowa, is a native of Ireland, having been born in
Milltown-Malbay, County Clare, in the year 1849, and is the son of Austin and
Jane (Dixon) Thyne. There were eleven children in this family, five of whom are
living, three boys and two girls. The father of our subject died in the Old
Country at the age of ninety-three, and the mother emigrated to the United
States, where she made her home until her death, which occurred in the year
1888. The maternal grandparents of our subject lived to the good old age of one
hundred and one, and one hundred and two, respectively. The paternal grandmother
lived to be ninety-three years old. Our subject emigrated to the United States
in the year 1865, his brother Patrick and another brother following five years
later. Mr. Thyne sailed from Queenstown and was twenty days crossing the ocean;
he did not have a very pleasant voyage, as he was sea sick all the way. He
landed in Boston, Mass., where he worked for about four months on the railroad,
when he left the east and went to Oshkosh, making the journey in three days and
three nights. On his arrival in Wisconsin he went to work on a farm for a
Pennsylvania Dutchman. He remained here for about two months and then came to
Iowa, where he now resides. Our subject worked for different parties for six or
seven years. He and Pat O'Laughlan purchased eighty acres of land in
partnership; they cultivated and improved the same, and in 1875 our subject
bought out his partner, and by hard labor and industry soon had a valuable and
Mr. Thyne was united in
marriage with Miss Mary Henry, daughter of Alexander and Annie (Carr) Henry,
January 22, 1877. Her parents are living on a farm about two miles and one-half
from her home. Mr. and Mrs. Thyne are the parents of nine children. Jenny, the
oldest, is sixteen years of age; Annie is fourteen, Austin, twelve; Willie, ten;
Robert, eight; Isabel, six; Emmet, four; Walter, two, and Grace is the baby.
Politically, our subject is a Democrat, but generally votes for the best man
regardless of politics. In his religious belief he is a Catholic. The two
sisters of our subject reside in Australia. Our subject is loyal and true to his
adopted country, and is ever ready to do his whole duty as a liberal spirited
and progressive citizen.
~Submitted by Becky Teubner
Portrait and Biographical
Album, Henry County, Iowa; Acme Publishing Company, Chicago, 1888, pp 290-291
BAKER, Station Agent at Rome, was born in County Clare, Ireland, March 17, 1827,
and is a son of Michael and Mary (O’Grady) Baker, both of whom were natives of
Ireland, and were reared, married, and died in County Clare. His father was
eighty-two years old at his death, and his mother seventy-five. They were both
members of the Catholic Church, and reared a family of nine children, all of
whom grew to man and womanhood. They were named: Thomas, who died in Ireland;
Mary, wife of Patrick Byron, also a native of Ireland; Bridget, wife of James
Clune, of the same country; Ellen, wife of John Sullivan; Ann, wife of James
Daloughty; Daniel, also a resident of his native country; Michael, who died
there; John, who died in Rome, Iowa, in 1874, and Patrick.
was the second one of the family to emigrate to America. He crossed the water in
1849, settling in New York, where for seven years he was engaged as section
foreman on the New York & Erie Railroad. In 1855 he came to Burlington,
and engaged as track foreman for the B. & M., now the C., B. & Q.
R. R., and in 1858 came to Rome. Here Mr. Baker was engaged as foreman,
continuing in this employment until 1878, when he was made Station Agent, which
position he has held ever since.
was united in marriage, in 1855, to Johanna Ambrose, a native of County
Limerick, Ireland, and a daughter of William Ambrose. By this union seven
children have been born: Michael A., now a resident of Keokuk, is chief
dispatcher of the C., B. & Q. R.
R.; John C. is operator at Rome; Katie is a teacher in the same village; Maggie
is also a teacher; Peter B. and James D. are now engaged in farming, and Johanna
is the youngest. Mr. and Mrs. Baker with their children are members of the
Catholic Church. He was poor in this world’s goods when he came to this
county, but by close attention to business, and good management, has gained a
competence. He now owns 200 acres of fine land, all improved, adjoining Rome.
Politically, he is a Democrat, and has been President of the Board of Education
for ten years. He takes great interest in educational and public affairs, and of
the citizens of Tippecanoe Township, none deserve more respect than does our
The United States Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of
Eminent and Self-Made Men. Iowa Volume. Chicago and New York:
American Biographical Publishing, 1878. p. 731
M. Guthrie, the treasurer of Carroll county, and for twenty-four years a
resident of Iowa, is a native of Ireland, and was born in the county of Clare on
the 16th of October, 1830. His parents were Matthew Guthrie, farmer, and Sabina
Stuart, both of Scotch descent, though natives of Ireland. Patrick spent his
youth on the farm; from sixteen to eighteen was employed by the British
government on public works, keeping the time of two thousand men, measuring
their work and paying them weekly; in 1848 came to the United States, landing in
New York city on the 4th of July; proceeded as far west as Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
and after clerking there for a short time, was employed as a foreman on the
Michigan Southern and Northern Indiana railroad while it was being constructed.
Subsequently he took contracts on different railroads in Illinois, so doing
until the 10th of October, 1854, when he settled in Dubuque, Iowa. There he was
a contractor and builder for seven or eight years, putting up some of the
important public buildings, including the city hall, erected in 1857. In 1859,
and in 1860, he was connected with Colonel H.H. Hearn in the publication of
"The Northwest," a democratic newspaper.
In 1862 Mr. Guthrie was elected city treasurer, and
held the office by re-elections five years. The writer of this sketch was a
citizen of Dubuque during the period here referred to, and has no hesitation in
saying that a more faithful officer never disbursed the funds of the city. At
the close of his last term as treasurer Mr. Guthrie made an abstract of the
titles in Dubuque county, managed that business for three years, and in 1871
moved to Carroll, the seat of justice of Carroll county, where he engaged in the
real estate business with Mr. T.L. Bowman, the firm name being Guthrie and
Bowman. In this enterprise they have been very successful, having sold upward of
half a million acres of land in the counties of Carroll, Sac and Calhoun, being
the agents of the Iowa Railroad Loan Company. They have opened an office at
Lemars, in order to settle up Plymouth county, and Mr. Bowman superintends that
office. As a dealer in lands, as in all other business transactions, Mr. Guthrie
is candid, straightforward and reliable. His coming to Carroll county marked an
epoch in its history. He brought others with him from Dubuque county, and by his
fair dealings and easy terms of payments has induced many industrious men to
settle on wild lands in western Iowa. He is an eminently useful citizen of
Carroll county, and his popularity is well merited.
Mr. Guthrie was elected treasurer of Carroll county in
1875, and now holds that office.
In politics he was reared a democrat, and has never
voted any other ticket.
In religion he was born in the Catholic church, and
firmly adheres to the faith of his ancestors. In moral and christian character
his standing is highly commendatory.
Mr. Guthrie has been a married man since the 9th of
June, 1862, his wife being Miss Emma Mahar, of Galena, Illinois. They have four
boys living and have lost five children.
A Memorial and Biographical record
of Iowa. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1896
Stephen Monahan.- The gentleman whose name heads this
review is one of the prominent Irish-Americans who are worthy of representation
in a work of this character. Beginning life at the foot of the great social and
financial ladder, he has, by dint of persistent labor attained a degree of
prominence seldom achieved without financial aid.
He was born in county Clare, Ireland, on the 24th of
December, 1844. In early childhood he was bereft of a father's tender care and
counsel, and when seven years of age accompanied his widowed mother to America.
They first located in St. Albans, Vermont, whence they removed to Canada, after
returning to Maine, thence to Salmon Falls, New Hampshire. While the maternal
home was in New England our subject learned the machinist's trade at North
Andover, Massachusetts, and this was his life work for many years.
Being engaged principally in railway machine shops Mr.
Monahan was necessarily obliged to seek employment at railway centers. This for
some years necessitated much travel and frequent change of location. He worked
in Detroit, Michigan, for sixteen months; spent two years in Manchester, New
Hampshire; was in Adrian, Michigan, for six months, and in Elkhart, Indiana, for
six months. In 1871 he came to Stuart, Iowa, and entered the employ of the
Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad Company, with which he continued for
the long period of eighteen consecutive years. This continued service was
certainly a high testimonial to his skill and ability and to his devotion to his
company's interests. He was very successful in his special line of mechanics and
was considered safe counsel in matters pertaining to the machinist's trade.
Mr. Monahan has been twice married, his first wife
being Miss Mary Flynn, whom he wedded in Lawrence, Massachusetts. After a happy
married life of five years she died, leaving three children, two of whom have
joined their mother in the spirit world, the remaining son Patrick, who is now a
student in the law department of the Iowa State University. Mr. Monahan
afterward wedded Miss Mary Drury, the marriage being celebrated at Salmon Falls,
New Hampshire. The lady is a native of the Emerald Isle and came to this country
in her youth. Three children bless this union, - Mary, Charles, and Stephen, and
all are yet under the parental roof.
While employed at mechanical pursuits Mr .Monahan was
industrious and frugal, devoting his leisure to study and careful reading. He
therefore became not only generally well informed but especially bright and
clear-headed upon political topics, in which he has always taken a great
interest. For five consecutive years he has been employed by the Republican
State Central Committee as a campaign speaker, and for more than ten years he
has taken an active part with that party in political discussions. He is
therefore a gentleman widely known throughout his Congressional district as a
fluent and able expounder of the doctrines of Republicanism. He is a prominent
and active member of the Roman Catholic Church in Stuart, and is public-spirited
and enterprising, giving freely of his means to the support of all worthy
religious or charitable interests. He is also one of the Irish-Americans who
cannot forget the distress of his countrymen across the water and he cheerfully
lends them assistance in their dire necessities. He is prominently identified
with the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and in all the relations of life is an
esteemed gentleman whom to know is to honor.
In 1889 Mr. Monahan left the work bench and the turning
lathe and directed his attention to buying and selling real estate, loaning
money, and to general insurance. His intimate and favorable acquaintance
throughout the country enabled him to develop at once a fine business. It is
said that his real-estate sales exceed all other business in that line in the
city. His office are admirably located and well fitted up and he devotes his
time to his business as assiduously as he did when his daily bread depended upon
his prompt response to the whistle that called all employees to work. As a
reward for industry and frugality he has accumulated valuable property interests
in Stuart and vicinity, and is to-day one of the substantial citizens of this
section of Iowa.
Buchanan County, Iowa, and Its People. Harry
Church and Katharyn J. Chappell. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1914.
Considine, a prominent factor in financial circles of Buchanan county, being
vice president of the Jesup State Bank, is equally well known as a farmer and
stockman of this section. He is a native son of the county, born on a farm in
Perry township, September 8, 1867, his parents being Patrick and Ann (Crane)
Considine, both of whom were natives of Ireland. In 1852 the father emigrated to
Canada in company with two brothers, a sister and his parents, Patrick and Susan
(Keane) Considine, natives of County Clare, Ireland. There Patrick Considine,
Sr., and his three sons worked on a railroad for about five years during which
time they carefully saved their money, and in 1856 the son Patrick, father of
our subject, was sent to Iowa to buy a home for the family. Looking about for a
suitable location, he decided upon Perry township, Buchanan county, as a
desirable place in which to invest his money. He purchased a tract of one
hundred and sixty acres near Littleton, and the following year he was joined by
the other members of the household. Father and sons then bent their engines
toward the improvement and development of the farm. In the course of time the
sons married and established homes of their own, all becoming well-to-do farmers
of Perry township. Patrick Considine, Sr., spent his remaining years on his farm
in Perry township and there passed away. The mother of our subject, who bore the
maiden name of Ann Crane, emigrated from Ireland to the United States in her
girlhood, her arrival here being in the same year as that of Mr. Considine. They
were married in this country and became the parents of four children. Through
the death her husband Mrs. Considine was left with the care of her family but
she managed to keep them together on the farm, carefully rearing them and giving
them the advantages of an education such as were enjoyed in those early days.
She is still living at the age of ninety years and now makes her home with her
son Michael. She is a communicant of the Catholic church. The children are:
Ellen, the wife of John Keane, a farmer of Black Hawk county, Iowa; Mary, who is
single and makes her home with her brother, Michael; Thomas, who died at the age
of seventeen years; and Michael R. of this review.|
Michael R. Considine was deprived of a father's care at
the age of two years but he was carefully reared by his mother, who is now in
turn cared for by him. His older brother died when a youth of seventeen
years, so that as soon as he was old enough the care of the farm devolved upon
Michael. The place comprised one hundred and sixty acres, which he cultivated
until 1912, when he rented the farm and with his mother and sister Mary removed
to Jesup where they occupy a beautiful and substantial home. Prior to leaving
the farm in 1901, Mr. Considine formed a partnership with Z.A. Comfort in buying
and shipping stock, and he is still dealing in live stock, disposing of several
carloads of cattle and hogs in the city markets each year. His business
interests are varied, however, for in addition to his stock business he is
acting as vice president of the Jesup State Bank of which he was one of the
organizers and now is serving on the board of directors. He likewise owns stock
in the telephone and creamery companies of the city.
It was on the 28th of October, 1895, that Mr. Considine
was married to Miss Bridget Meaney, who was born on the Emerald isle but in 1891
in company with a brother emigrated to the United States. Like the other members
of the family Mr. Considine is a communicant of the Catholic church, while
politically he supports the democratic party. For several years he has served as
township trustee. He is an alert and enterprising business man, possessing all
the requisite qualities of a sturdy Irish ancestry, and fully merits the high
esteem in which he is held alike by business and social friends.
Buchanan County, Iowa, and Its People. Harry
Church and Katharyn J. Chappell. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1914.
Edmond Gallery, a
well known and representative agriculturist of Buchanan county, is the owner of
one hundred and twenty-seven acres on section 34, Fremont township, and also has
another tract embracing one hundred and forty acres on section 27 of the same
township, cultivating all except twenty-six acres which he rents. His birth
occurred in Springfield, Massachusetts, on the 23d of August, 1868, his parents
being Patrick and Johanna (McGrath) Gallery, the former born in County Clare,
Ireland, March 17, 1822, and the latter in Tipperary, Ireland, in 1828. Their
marriage was celebrated in Springfield, Massachusetts, Patrick Gallery having
emigrated to the United States as a young man of twenty-seven years. All of
their children were born in the Bay state. In 1869 the family came to Iowa,
locating on a farm in Buchanan county which the father operated until within six
years of his demise, which occurred on the 7th of June, 1900. He had lived here
for more than three decades and his death was the occasion of deep and
widespread regret. His wife was called to her final rest on the 8th of
September, 1908. In their family were five children, as follows: James, a
resident of Winthrop; Ellen, the wife of Michael Hogan, of Paoli, Kansas;
Daniel, a farmer living near Paoli, Kansas; Frank, a resident farmer of Fremont
township; and Edmond, the subject of this review.
Edmond Gallery was but little more than a year old when
his parents established their home in this county and here he acquired his
education. He remained on the home place until the time of his marriage and then
started out as an agriculturist on his own account, having since operated the
farm on which he resides at present. He cultivates the cereals best adapted to
soil and climate and also raises and feeds stock, both branches of his business
returning to him and a gratifying income. All of the improvements on the
property stand as monuments to his enterprise and energy, and in its neat and
thrifty appearance the place bespeaks the supervision of a practical and
At Masonville, Delaware county, Iowa, Mr. Gallery was
united in marriage to Miss Alice Larkins, who was born in Chicago in 1874, her
parents being Edward and Delia (Ryan) Larkins. The father, a native of New York
and a carpenter by trade, passed away at Flint, Michigan, March 3, 1875. In
September, 1853, in Chicago, Illinois, he wedded Miss Delia Ryan, a native of
Louth county, Ireland, by whom he had one child, Alice. The daughter was
educated in Iowa, coming to this state with her mother following the death of
the father. She was a teacher in the country schools for five years preceding
her marriage. She has become the mother of nine children, as follows: Eleanor,
who was graduated from the Notre Dame Convent, at Independence, Iowa, in 1913
and now a teacher in the Middlefield No. 2 school; Anna, who finished her
studies in the Winthrop schools in 1914; Josie; Alice, Edmond; Francis; Elmer;
Walter; and James. All of the children are still under the parental roof.
Mr. Gallery gives his allegiance to the democracy,
exercising his right of franchise in support of its men and measures. He is a
devout communicant of the Catholic church and is identified fraternally with the
Foresters. In the community where practically his entire life has been spent he
is widely and favorably known, having in the course of his upright and honorable
career gained recognition as a substantial and progressive farmer and a
public-spirited and loyal citizen.
Buchanan County, Iowa, and Its People. Harry
Church and Katharyn J. Chappell. 2 vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1914.
is well known as a pioneer of Buchanan county and Perry township for he has been
identified with the agricultural interests in this section since 1857, covering
a period of fifty-seven years. He was born in County Clare, Ireland, September
14, 1842, a son of Patrick and Susan (Keane) Considine, who were likewise
natives of County Clare. Patrick Considine followed farming in his native county
and in 1852, in company with his wife, three sons and one daughter, left the
Emerald isle for Canada, the family home being established in Hamilton. There
father and sons worked on the railroad for a few years. Their greatest ambition
was to get to the United States and make for themselves a good home. To this end
they worked diligently and saved their earnings, and in September, 1856, the
son, Patrick, Jr., was sent out to invest in farm land. He decided upon Buchanan
county, Iowa, as a desirable place in which to live and purchased a farm of one
hundred and sixty acres near Littleton, in Perry township. He then joined the
other members of the family in Canada, but the following year they came to this
state, though for several months they worked on the railroad, in the meantime
making their home in Dyersville. In December of 1857 they took up their abode
upon the newly acquired farm and at once undertook the task of breaking and
developing land in this then new and largely unsettled region. The father
remains on this place throughout the remainder of his life and passed away at
the advanced age of ninety-two years. The mother died in 1878 at the age of
seventy. He was a democrat in his political views and both he and his wife were
devout members of the Catholic church. Their four children were as follows:
Patrick, who engaged in farming in Buchanan county and died at the age of
thirty-eight years; Michael, who was also engaged in farming in that section and
died at the age of seventy-three; Thomas, of this review; and Margaret, the
widow of Michael Cunningham, and a resident of Waterloo, Iowa.
Thomas Considine was in his tenth year when the family left
the land of their nativity for Canada, so that his early education was acquired
in the latter place. He worked as a water boy for the railroad company and was a
youth of fifteen years when the family home was established in Buchanan county,
subsequent to which time he continued his studies in the schools of Littleton.
He remained on the home farm until he had reached the age of twenty-seven years,
when he established a home of his own by his marriage. He purchased a part of
his present farm property in Perry township and has added to it until the place
now embraces two hundred and seventy-three acres. He has improved his property
with substantial buildings and now owns one of the most valuable and up-to-date
farms in that section of Buchanan county.
Mr. Considine has been married twice. His first union
was with Miss Bridget Meany, the marriage ceremony being performed January 31,
1870. She was a native of County Clare, Ireland, and in 1866, during her
girlhood, emigrated to the United States. She passed away January 6, 1879,
leaving two children: Charles James, who is associated with his father in the
operation of the farm; and Mary, who died at the age of fifteen years, on the
12th of November, 1885. For his second wife Mr. Considine chose Mrs. Annie
(Nolan) Brown, whom he wedded April 30, 1880. She was born in County Wexford,
Ireland, and was there reared and married, after which she came with her husband
to the United States and located in Freeport, Illinois. Later their home was
established in Winthrop, Iowa, and it was in that city that Mr. Brown's death
occurred. The widow then made her home in Independence, Iowa, until her marriage
to Mr. Considine. By this union there is a son and a daughter: Thomas Joseph,
who is still with his parents; and Frances Margaret, the wife of James Meany, a
resident farmer of Perry township.
In politics an ardent democrat, Mr. Considine has
always manifested a deep concern in public affairs, although he has persistently
refused to accept public position at the hands of his fellow citizens. He and
his family are communicants of the Catholic church. It was the pioneers who
through their patience and energy and their wise foresight organized and built
up a community here which in its general prosperity, its orderly society, the
pleasantness of its homes and the intelligence and moral tone of its people is
all that goes to make up a desirable civilization, and in this work Thomas
Considine took a large part. In the fifty-seven years that have passed since he
took up abode in Buchanan county, he has witnessed many changes and now in
the evening of life he can enjoy many comforts, as the result of a life spent in
usefulness and activity. At the age of seventy-two years he is still hale and
hearty and is surrounded by a host of warm friends who entertain for him the
highest respect and esteem.
History of Butler and Bremer Counties, Iowa, Together with
Biographies...Springfield, Ill.: Union Pub. Co., 1883
of Bremer County
The first settlement was made in June, 1854, by Patrick O'Day, locating on
section 2, where he yet lives; W.A. Moulton, Emmor Flood and Nelson Long, on
Patrick O'Day was born February 15, 1824, in the parish
of Parteen, county Clare, Ireland. He is the son of P. O'Day and Kate Frost,
natives of the county Clare. In 1849, he emigrated with his family to America,
landing in New York July 4, and without waiting any time started for the west,
remaining in Chicago about three months, then went south and worked for Captain
J.B. Eads upon a wrecking boat on the Mississippi river, making his home at St.
Louis and New Orleans. He was married in Chicago in August, 1850, to Miss Mary
Foley, daughter of Hugh F. and Bridget Foley, a native of county Clare, Ireland
by whom he has had ten children - Robert, Hattie, Kate, Mary, William and Anne.
About two years after marriage, Mr. O'Day came with his family to Bremer county,
and settled on the land in Leroy township, where he has since resided. At the
time of his coming to the township he found only one family. Mr. O'Day is one of
the leading farmers of his township, has at the present time 613 acres of
prairie, and 120 of timber. The year after Mr. O'Day came to America he was
followed by his father, mother and three brothers, who came to Illinois, where
his mother died, when they all came to Bremer county, his father dying April 16,
1876. Mr. O'Day has held several local offices; has always worked with the
democratic party, but is now a greenbacker. Himself and family are members of
the Catholic church.
History of Buchanan County, Iowa. ed. C.S. Percival and E.
Percival. Cleveland: William Bros., 1881
Patrick Taylor was born in Clare county, Ireland, in 1813. Mr. Taylor came
to America in 1851; he moved to his farm in Fremont township in 1869. This farm
contains four hundred acres and is all excellent land. Mr. Taylor bought it in
1867. All the improvements on the place were made by Mr. Taylor and his sons. He
has a large, two-story house which he built in 1869; the farm buildings are also
good. Mrs. Taylor, whose maiden name was Annie Maloney, was born in Clare
county, Ireland, in 1823. They were married in 1846. They have seven children
living. Following are their names and their ages in 1880: Joseph, thirty-three;
Dennis, thirty-one; Thomas, thirty; Francis, twenty-eight; George, twenty-seven;
Delia, twenty-one; Mary, nineteen; Charles Patrick and two other sons died in
infancy. Mr. Taylor has been a hard-working man all his life. He and his sons do
an extensive farming business, being among the first farmers in the township.
Mr. Taylor is in very comfortable circumstances, and all his property is simply
the result of his own exertions. He is one of our solid men and most worthy
History of Buchanan County, Iowa. ed. C.S. Percival and E.
Percival. Cleveland: William Bros., 1881
Patrick Gallery was born in Clare county, Ireland, in 1825. In the year 1852 he
came to the United States. He lived two years in Brooklyn, New York, then went
to Massachusetts, where he lived, near Springfield, about fourteen years,
working in a quarry and farming. In 1868 he moved to Buchanan county and
purchased one hundred and sixty acres in Fremont. He has since added and now has
four hundred acres in all, making a most excellent farm. The place was
unimproved, but Mr. Gallery has made a superior farm of it. He built his house
himself, and has a neat and pretty home in a fine location. He has a young
orchard of over one hundred trees, and is making improvements continually. Mr.
Gallery was married in 1856 to Miss Johanna McGrath, of Tipperary county,
Ireland. They have five children, born as follows: James A., May 14, 1857; Ellen
N., December 7, 1859; Daniel M., September 27, 1861; Francis P., November 12,
1863; Edmund, August 23, 1865. Mr. and Mrs. Gallery belong to the Catholic
church. They are worthy citizens and have a fine home. Mr. Gallery is an
industrious and business-like farmer; starting poor, he has built up a fine
property by his own exertions. He is a man of intelligence and everywhere
History of Buchanan County, Iowa. ed. C.S. Percival and E.
Percival. Cleveland: William Bros., 1881
E. Tuohey was born in County Clare, Ireland, in the year 1838. He came to
America in May, 1847; landed in New York; soon afterwards went to Canada; then,
after some travelling and moving, finally settled in Middlefield township, in
1854, on the spot where he still resides. This makes Mr. Tuohey one of the
oldest settlers in this township. In 1854, he entered forty acres of Government
land. Since that time he has made several additions, and some sales, besides
giving eighty acres to his son. He now owns three hundred acres of excellent
land supplied with water and wood. Wolves and deer were abundant at the time he
came here, and were frequently seen in large droves. Mr. Tuohey started poor,
but now possesses a fine property, all acquired by his own work. He is now
considered one of the wealthiest and prosperous citizens. Mr. Tuohey was married
in County Clare, in 1838. They have twelve children, with names and ages as
follows: John, aged twenty-four; Mary Ann, aged twenty-two; Lawrence, aged
twenty-one; James, aged eighteen; Thomas, aged sixteen; Margaret, aged fourteen;
Bridget, aged twelve; Jane, aged ten; Celia, aged eight; Edward, aged six;
Agnes, aged four; William Francis, aged two. Mrs. Tuohey's mother, Mrs. Margaret
Flannigan, is now living with her daughter. She is a native of Ireland, County
Clare, and is now over seventy years of age. The family are Catholics. Mr. and
Mrs. Tuohey brought up a large and industrious family. Their oldest daughter has
taught five terms of school and is at present teaching in her home district. The
family have many friends. Mr. Tuohey will build a new residence this season,
large and convenient.
History of Jefferson County, Iowa...by Charles J. Fulton. 2
vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1912.
Dennis T. Kilfoy, who for the past six years has filled the position of
right-of-way agent for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company,
makes his home in Fairfield, whither he was brought by his parents when but
three months old. He was born in Burlington, Iowa, July 1, 1858, a son of
Timothy and Bridget (Murphy) Kilfoy. The father was born in Scariff, County
Clare, Ireland, in 1825, and the mother's birth occurred in Tralee, County
Kerry, Ireland, in 1831. They spent their childhood days on the Emerald isle and
both became residents of Burlington in the year 1856. They were married in that
city and remained there until their son Dennis was three weeks old, when they
removed to Fairfield where the remainder of their lives were passed. The father
was a laborer, who was associated for a long period with the erection of public
school buildings of the city. He died there in 1899 and for six years was
survived by his wife, who passed away in 1905. They had seven children: Dennis
T.; Kate, who married James Sullivan, both now deceased; Annie, living in
Fairfield; Julia, the wife of T.J. Hynes, of Burlington; Bridget, who died
February 12, 1911; Edward, whose death occurred September 29, 1895; and Mary,
who died in 1899.
It was on the 22nd of July, 1858, that the family came
to Jefferson county and Dennis T. Kilfoy has since made his home in Fairfield,
covering a period of more than half a century. He acquired his education by
attending the common schools and began earning his own living by working as a
section hand for the Burlington & Missouri Railroad, now a part of the
Chicago, Burlington & Quincy system. Subsequently he was employed in a
lumberyard and also worked for a time for the Fairfield Gas Company. He then
secured a position as a clerk in a grocery store and for twenty years was
connected with that line of merchandising. At the present writing he is the
right-of-way agent for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, which
position he has acceptably filled for six years, while for six years he acted as
assistant general agent for the same company.
On the 15th of June, 1887, Mr. Kilfoy was married to
Miss Elizabeth Fritz, of Burlington, Iowa, who was born near that place in
August, 1866, a daughter of Peter and Susan (Kurtz) Fritz, who are mentioned in
this volume in connection with the record of their son, John H. Fritz. Mr. and
Mrs. Kilfoy have three sons: John A., of Fairfield, who has charge of the
Jefferson County Raging League; and Leo T., eighteen years of age and Edward
Joseph, both at home and high school students. Mr. Kilfoy votes with the
democratic party and is a communicant of the St. Mary's Roman Catholic church.
He has always worked hard and to his diligence and industry must be attributed
whatever success he has achieved.
History of Jefferson County, Iowa...by Charles J. Fulton. 2
vols. Chicago: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1912.
John F. Ready is filling the position of county attorney of Jefferson county and
is recognized as a prominent figure in democratic circles in this part of the
state. In the practice of law he has made steady advancement and the ability
which he has displayed in the office that he now fills has won for him the
commendation of representatives of the legal fraternity and of the general
public. Fairfield numbers him among her native sons, his birth having here
occurred on the 14th of November, 1872. His parents, Patrick and Mary (Collins)
Ready, were both natives of Milltown, County Clare, Ireland. The mother came to
the United States in 1861 when about twenty years of age, Mr. Ready having made
the trip several years before. He was in the regiment that was en route from the
front and which Mrs. Ready saw as it marched near the dock where she landed. He
had enlisted as a member of the Fifty-first New York Infantry and served until
honorably discharged on account of disability, his elbow having been shot off.
Following the close of his military service he met and married Miss Mary
Collins, the wedding being celebrated in Syracuse, New York. On their removal
westward they first located in Chicago but after about a year came to Fairfield,
arriving in 1866 or 1867. The father was killed, August 28, 1888, in a railroad
wreck, and the mother still survives in Fairfield. In their family were three
children: Morris, who was burned to death when two years of age; John F., and
W.J., at home with his mother.
Throughout his entire life John F. Ready has resided in
Fairfield and after attending public schools entered the Christian Brothers
College in St. Joseph, Missouri, from which he was graduated in June, 1892. He
pursued the study of law in Drake University at Des Moines, completing a course
in the law department in 1896, and in May of the same year he took the
examination before the supreme court whereby he was admitted to practice. In the
meantime he had been employed in all of the printing offices of Fairfield,
starting his business world in the Journal office. He had devoted about eight
years to the printing business and the money which he saved from his labors
enabled him to complete his literary preparation and obtain his legal training.
Since his admission to the bar he has continuously practiced in Fairfield with a
constantly growing clientage that has connected him with much of the important
work done in the courts. His political allegiance has always been given to the
democratic party and for four years he served as a city attorney, covering the
period from 1907 to 1910 inclusive. In the fall of the latter year he was
elected county attorney, which position he is now filling in a capable manner,
neither fear nor favor serving him in the faithful discharge of his duty. He has
long been recognized as a leader in the local ranks of the democratic party,
serving as chairman of the democratic county central committee in 1896-7 and
also as a member of the judicial and congressional committees.
On the 21st of July, 1909, Mr. Ready was married to
Miss Elizabeth Hayden, a native of Creston, Iowa, and a daughter of Michael and
Margaret Hayden. They have one child, Mary Margaret, a little daughter who is
the life and light of the household. Mr. Ready is well known in local military
ranks as a member of Company M, Fifty-fourth Infantry of the Iowa National
Guard, with which he has been identified since its reorganization following the
Spanish-American war. On the 17th of March, 1908, he was elected captain and is
still commanding the company. Fraternally he is connected with the Yeomen and
with the Eagles. Those who know him, and his friends are many, find him a
social, genial gentleman, who is loyal to duty in every relation of his life and
who in his profession is winning merit and advancement by reason of his thorough
understanding of legal principles and his correct application thereof to the
points at issue.
Biographical Record and Portrait Album of Webster and
Hamilton Counties, Iowa. The Lewis Publishing Company, 113 Adams Street,
John Haire, one of the well-known pioneers of
Fort Dodge and the present efficient clerk of the courts of Webster County, is a
native of the Emerald Isle, born in County Clare, in 1821. He was reared in the
mercantile business in the city of Dublin. In 1848 he came to America and for
several years lived in Cincinnati and while there married Miss Mary M. Cor, a
native of that city. Having heard of the desirability of Fort Dodge as a place
of residence and being impressed with the advantages for growth and enterprise
that this then frontier town possessed, he, in 1855, decided to locate here and
make a home for his family. He was one of the first merchants of the town and
continued in business until 1870. From 1879 till 1885 he was county auditor and
in 1886 was elected to his present position. Mr. Haire has a family of ten
children, seven sons and three daughters and several of his sons are prosperous
business men. The eldest, David J., is deputy clerk of the courts of Webster
County. In his religious faith Mr. Haire is a Catholic, and no citizen of Fort
Dodge has been more devoted to the advancement of his church than he. He justly
takes pride in the advancement his church has made from a small congregation of
worshipers, when Fort Dodge was but a missionary station and the place of
worship a log building, to the present numerous body of worshipers, having one
of the most beautiful churches in the State of Iowa. As a citizen Mr. Haire is
highly esteemed for his upright, honest character and is will worthy of a place
in the permanent record of the old settlers of Webster County.
Davenport Democrat; Davenport, Scott, Iowa; June 20, 1924
"ALWAYS ROOM AT THE TOP" THE MOTTO OF PAT WALSH, ONE OF THE
ABLEST OF DAVENPORT BUILDERS.
Cities are but men magnified; their histories are
definitely formed and their development as truly shaped by characteristics and
decided by simple events which controlled their destinies as any man's. The
glamour of their rise to high position and their accession of power is no less
wonderful than that of the individuals who make up the municipality.
Few there were perhaps in LeClaire's day who dared to let
their imagination pierce the future but little more than three quarters of a
century away to visualize a city on the Mississippi with industries which
reached to all parts of the world, with buildings scarcely then conceived in the
minds of the builders in the civilization they had left. Even fewer, then were
there who in the activities about the French & Davies mill of the '66's saw
in the lad packing shingles at that plant, a bui8lder who in four decades was to
be so nationally known that the United States of America would invite him to bid
upon its first Panama canal project; few, too, of those who toiled in the
at the Rock Island Arsenal a decade later would believe that before their own
span of life had finished, their fellow-worker, Patrick T. Walsh, native of
Davenport, was to direct railroad construction works throughout the nation;
handling contracts whose totals annually mounted into millions.
It seemed a far journey from a humble home and struggling
family of eight to dazzling pinnacle of command in the engineering world, but it
was Pat Walsh's journey and he accomplished it. No magic formula of success was
his; he held no Aladdin lamp to fortune.
"Success can be classified as that quality which prompts
the average individual to 'move up' as he enters a crowded street car," Pat
Walsh once explained. "About the entrance, the crowd huddles together
and the congestion is being gradually added to by the incoming passengers.
Finally, someone gets aboard whose disposition and temperament is to 'move up'
where there is more room and tho he bumps some of the passengers and gets
jostled himself, he reaches the place where there is more room and a better
atmosphere and really
makes it more satisfactory for the crowd he passed on his way to comfort."
"Moving Up" Always.
That was Pat's creed. His life exemplified the "moving
up" process. Those who caught his spirit moved along with him as
biographies of half a dozen of his associates can attest and they found him
quick to recognize the same quality in others that he himself possessed. No
little of his success in life can be attributed to his fidelity and keen
judgment of his aides. Men who proved their
worth in his early years rose with him to high position in the Walsh ranks.
Born March 17, 1855, of parents but lately come from County
Clare, Ireland, and settled in this community, he was one of a family of eight.
An elder, too, upon whom early fell some of the responsibilities of providing
for the home. Thus the summer when he was 11, Pat went into the world of wage
earners, a shingle packer and probably general errand boy. Two summers of this
and the next year found him carrying water for men engaged in the "Big
Cut" in West Davenport- his first association with railroad construction
gangs and the initial touch of the romance of the builders. Then the Rock Island
Arsenal was booming and for the lad who seemed destined to earn his livelihood
by the toil
of his brow, the stonemason's art held promise of future sustenance. For a
decade he worked there.
In the '80s, tho, the men sought better working hours and in
the difficulties which ensued Walsh took an uncompromising stand. The men won
their contention. Their working conditions were adjusted to their satisfaction,
but Walsh, tho a victor in the fight- emerged defeated- a defeat which started
him on the high-road to wealth and prominence. He was not returned to the
Arsenal and his years of faithful service seemed to have been lost.
He didn't turn from his chosen occupation nor from his home.
With no financial backing and only such equipment he could assemble by his
limited means, he sought minor contracts, digging cellars, and similar
supplementary excavation jobs. But Pat had a line of action. He was in the crowd
at the entrance to life's reward and he determined to "move up."
Lands First Contract.
Cellar work led to sewer-drains and street improvement and
his field was gradually expanding until one happy day he landed a contract for
the "fill" on the Burlington right-of-way at Galva. That was a crucial
point in his life for from then on, Walsh Construction company, under various
names and in varied combinations, forged slowly to the front as a railroad
construction concern. On the Newer larger roads, the Walsh crews were
continuously employed. Success of these later days never
turned Pat's head. He was ever thotful of the needy. His charity was broad and
once he learned of a sick or crippled youngster and their needs he never failed
to remember them by generous gift. His civic pride kept pace with his own
charity. Institutions and causes have occasion to remember his generosity as
those of his aides who advanced with their leader to important places.
In the construction field the Walsh interests were centered.
Later years brought a diversification of his enterprises. The Walsh Construction
company which was the development and focal point of all his engineering
activities represented the merger of half a dozen companies which had operated
under his controlling genius; the Blackhawk hotel will stand a monument to his
civic industry and pride as well as his art as a builder, the Sacred Heart
Cathedral, another of his local projects, was his particular pride.
So, this is the story of a boy who rode from water-carrier to
ride in his private car, who lost in victory and turned defeat to success, who
never failed to take note of faithful service and rewarded it, whose charity
grew as his means.
History of Davenport and Scott County" by Harry E.
Downer - S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. 1910 Chicago
Who does not know and like Patrick T. Walsh? The
root of the uniform regard in which he is held is found in his own life,
sterling traits of character winning him the confidence and good will of the
rich, his kindliness and charity the friendship and gratitude of the poor.
Perhaps the real test of a man is found in his relation to his employes.
The opportunity of overbearance and for strict and inconsiderate regulations is
his as well as the opportunity for the exercise of a spirit of fraternal
appreciation and helpfulness. In this Patrick T. Walsh has chosen the
better part and no greater loyalty is to be anywhere found than is manifest
toward him by his employes from the humblest to the companies operating
throughout the entire country on various lines of construction work.
Wealth and success have crowned him in his later years, but his early
experiences brought him want and hardships. It is this perhaps that has
made him sympathetic and helpful toward those who are undergoing a struggle
similar to that which he experienced.
Davenport is proud to number him as a citizen and as a
native son. He was here born March 17, 1855, his parents being John and
Mary (Burns) Walsh, both of whom were natives of County Clare, Ireland.
The father came to this city from the old country in 1848, having crossed the
Atlantic on a sailing vessel which was six weeks in completing that voyage.
He landed at New Orleans and
made his way up the Mississippi river to Davenport. Both he and his wife
were members of the Catholic church. His death occurred in 1887, when he
was seventy-seven years of age. In their family were eight children, of
whom only two are now living, the sister Margaret, the wife of John Cody, of
The surviving son, Patrick T. Walsh, was educated in
Father Pelamorgour's Catholic school and when eleven years of age began work in
the French and Davies sawmill, where he spent two summers in packing shingles
and later carried water on the big cut in west Davenport for one summer.
He next became an apprenticed stonecutter on the Rock Island arsenal. He
remained at the arsenal for eleven years and then occurred a circumstance which
forced him to seek other employment. It was in the '80s that the
stonecutters of Davenport and vicinity determined to make a stand for eight
hours per day and Mr. Walsh became a leader among his fellow workmen. The
men succeeded at
last in winning that for which they were contesting, but Mr. Walsh at the end of
the time was lableled as an agitator and was forced to seek other employment.
It was this that eventually led him into the construction business. He had
not planned to enter the field but, when losing his position at Rock Island, he
turned his attention to any work that he could find, doing such minor and
unpretentious jobs as digging cellars, running drains, digging sewers and street
work generally. Gradually he extended his efforts and in the course of
years has built up one of the notable successes of the country. To the
opportunity then presented there was supplemented the sterling character of the
man of plunk, that quality which scales barriers and wins victories on every
field of human endeavor. Gradually his business extended, and it was not
long before he had gained a foothold in the construction field. To him was
awarded a contract for a "fill" on the Chicago, Burlington &
Quincy Railroad at Galva, Illinois, and since that time he has had many gangs of
steam-shovel men at work. It has ever been characteristic of Mr. Walsh
that he has promoted his men as they have shown capability and fidelity, and
many who entered his service as shovel men have
become high-class superintendents and master mechanics. Among the things
in which he takes special delight is the substantial advance made by his
faithful subordinates. He has awakened unfaltering support by his belief
in his men, has constantly spoken to them words of encouragement and
appreciation and the men on their part give to him the utmost fidelity and the
best service of which they are capable. Possibly it is owing to this
factor that the Walsh Construction Company can afford to give better terms than
many of its competitors. Zeal and loyalty count in a construction
proposition as well as in other walks. The growth of the business has
continued year by year until interests are conducted under ten separate
corporations, of all of which Mr. Walsh is the president, and every one of the
various adjuncts has grown up under his fostering care and careful guidance.
The relationship which exists in a well ordered family only adequately reflects
the harmony and understanding that dwells in this great organization, which is
doubtless the keynote to its big success. At the present these
construction companies are engaged in building railroads from coast to coast.
Mr. Walsh has been awarded many contracts for the erection
of buildings, the one in which he takes special pride being the Sacred Heart
Catholic Cathedral of Davenport, Iowa. There are a few industries of
Davenport of any importance that have not felt the stimulus of his cooperation
and have benefited by his assistance and councel. He is also connected
with the Scott County Bank and three other banking institutions.
On the 1st of June, 1881, Mr. Walsh was married to Miss
Catherine Beecher, and they have five living children: Mary, the wife of
E. J. Walsh; Thomas, who is with his father in business; Katherine, Gertrude and
Edward, at home. He and his family are members of the Catholic church.
It is known that Mr. Walsh favors every project for the
public good and cooperates liberally and influentially in support of movements
that have been of the utmost benefit to the city. He is of a kindly
nature, of genial and jovial disposition, and like many self-made men is easy to
approach and displays thoughtful consideration of others. His life
experiences have made him a philosopher. A trade magazine comments on this
phase of his life in the following words: "He is simple and
unaffected in manner yet deep and profound in his conclusions on important
topics. Speaking of gaining success in life, he said success can be
classified as that quality which prompts the average individual to 'move up' as
he enters the crowded street car of life. 'About the entrance the crowd
huddles together and the congestion is being gradually added to by the incoming
passengers,' said Mr. Walsh. 'Finally some one gets aboard whose
disposition and temperament is to "move up" where
there is more room, and, while he bumps some of the passengers and gets jostled
himself, he reaches the place where there is more room and a better atmosphere
and really makes it more satisfactory for the crowd he passed on his way to
comfort.' How true this is."
The same paper in commenting upon other features in his
life history says: "The example set by the Walsh Construction Company
in providing so generously for its employes has set a standard which other
companies have had approximately to reach, so that a benefit has been conferred
upon the whole line of the dirt-moving contingent. Treating men with
consideration for their needs and supplying them with the best that is going is
a big factor in maintaining efficiency, and with a force working at high pitch
results obtained are often a subject of wonderment even to those interested.
"Mr. Walsh has put many a discouraged man on his
feet and he has given the hand of recognition to the forlorn which gave them a
new start in life. His influence has been shown in encouraging a civic
pride in Davenport and many of the city's developments owe a great deal to his
timely interest and broad generosity."
Photo: Patrick T. Walsh